Are you a “helper”?

Are you looking for help?

Baird Brightman
2 min readFeb 29, 2024
Photo by M. Edmunds (with permission)

There are a lot of helpers (counselors, therapists, coaches, advice-givers) writing here on Medium. They vary widely in their approach and skill, but most have a sincere desire to help their clients do “better”. There are also many help-seekers here who are looking for useful information about the challenges they are dealing with in their lives.

Turns out this HELPING business is a bit complicated. Like most important things, it’s easy to talk about and harder to do well. As a therapist (clinical psychologist) and work/career advisor and organizational consultant, I always try to be clear (to myself and to my clients) about what I’m doing and why I’m doing it. I have always focused hard on the results of my helping (and sometimes the lack of results!). It’s a tough but satisfying and important job, and worth doing as well as possible.

Some thoughts about helping and seeking help

I recently posted three essays about helping on my Substack publication HUMAN NATURE. Here are (free) links to those for any helpers and help-seekers here on Medium who might be interested.

--

--