Review of Trulieve’s RSO Syringe

The Baked Butterfly
3 min readJun 12, 2020

One product that I highly recommend- especially for those looking to avoid methods of cannabis consumption involving inhalation- is Trulieve’s RSO Syringe. RSO, which stands for Rick Simpson Oil, is a highly concentrated, full-spectrum cannabis extract that helps create the entourage effect, which is where the effects of THC are mitigated by the rest of the plant’s cannabinoids and terpenes, giving one the effect of the whole plant. (Cannabinoids, such as THC and CBD, are the chemicals found within cannabis that induce various effects. Terpenes, such as limonene and pinene, are the organic compounds in cannabis that also induce different effects, but that produce distinct aromas, as well). Trulieve offers hybrid and indica RSO Syringes, but my personal preference is the hybrid (pictured below).

The syringe comes filled up to the 1 mL (1,000 mg) line and, according to Trulieve’s website, is supposed to last about 70 days if the patient uses the average dose of 5 mg twice a day. (The true average dose is probably 50–100 mg). For some reason, I have found my tolerance for cannabis when I eat it or take it sublingually to be incredibly high. For instance, I need to take around 600 mg of this syringe- which contains about 450 mg of THC- at a time to receive the desired effects. (I have yet to meet someone with this same issue and I would NEVER recommend that an individual takes 600 mg at once right away. The key with RSO is to start with a very low dose- the size of a grain of rice, perhaps- and work your way up to a point where you are comfortable and feel you are receiving desired effects. Unfortunately, I am a rare case where I do not reach this point until consuming 600 mg of it. The picture below indicates how much RSO I take at a time as I took the photo after one use).

Trulieve’s Hybrid RSO Syringe (after use)

If it were not for my high tolerance, I would be using RSO regularly as it is even more discrete and has longer-lasting effects than the standard inhalation methods; but, for $50 a syringe, and to require over half of a syringe at a time as a single dosage, switching to RSO instead of my usual inhalation methods would be far too costly. However, since it is rarely the case for someone to require so much RSO at a time, I highly recommend this product.

In my opinion, the flavor of Trulieve’s hybrid RSO is pretty gross and, when I first started using the product, I would experience some nausea while eating it. After some trial and error, however, I found a trick to cover the taste and make it smoother while going down the digestive tract: eating it on a cracker with honey. Using this trick has actually made me start buying the product more since I am now able to consume it without feeling nauseous.

The effects of Trulieve’s hybrid RSO lead me to believe it is indica-dominant. After about an hour and a half after taking the RSO, I feel a wave of euphoria wash over me, alleviating the symptoms of my depression. I like using the hybrid RSO as it ameliorates my depression and brings me to a state of happiness no matter how bad of an episode I am having. It also immensely increases my appetite and seems to make everything taste better. One of my favorite aspects of Trulieve’s RSO is that the effects last all day. For instance, if I take it at 11:00 in the morning, the effects will typically last me until 9:00 at night. I am sure that these very long-lasting effects are largely due to the high dose I take, but even the average dose should produce effects that last around 4 to 6 hours. Trulieve’s RSO Syringes are a good alternative for those looking to use medical marijuana by means other than inhalation.

--

--

The Baked Butterfly

I am a university student and medical marijuana patient living in Florida. I review strains from all FL dispensaries! :)