Things I Do with My Brass Knuckles

Hannah Baker
4 min readOct 11, 2019

--

Brass knuckle, sometimes known as a knuckle duster is quite a popular weapon among the youngsters these days. It is basically a weapon worn around the knuckles. Made of brass or metal, it increases the punching power of the wearer.

Brass knuckles is a powerful weapon. A punch with it can inflict severe injuries. But, it is not always used as a fighting weapon. I have a pair of knuckle duster, but I don’t use it as a weapon for fighting someone.

There are plenty of things I do with my brass knuckles. In this article, I would like to reveal those things to you.

Following are the ways I use my knucks:

Paperweight

The first thing I do with my brass knuckles is that I use them as a brass knuckle paperweight. In my office, I have to work with a lot of papers and documents. I have papers placed on my table all the time. If I don’t have a weighty thing placed on them, they always fly away. I often lose control over the papers when I have nothing to place on them.

Thanks to knuckle duster, now I have a solid thing that I can place on the papers to stop them from flying away. Even if I turn on the fan, the papers stay where I want them. This has made my work easier as I can control all those papers. So, my knucks work perfectly for me as a paperweight. It is made of metal and has the weight to control the papers.

Punching Practice

Secondly, I use my brass knuckles for doing some punching practice. I have a heavy bag in my house and I usually practice my punches. Since I have purchased a pair of knucks, now, I always wear them before punching the heavy bag.

There is a difference in punching without wearing knuckle duster and while wearing it. When I have worn it, I can easily spot where I am punching. So, this helps me improve my punching ability. So, now I regularly practice while wearing them.

Self Defense

An important use of brass knuckles is as self defense weapon. Not just I, several other people use them for self defense. In fact, it is one of the most frequently used weapons for self defense. There are plenty of advantages of using it as your primary self defense weapon.

Because it can be worn, you prevent from carrying a weapon additionally in your pocket or bag. Secondly, it is easy to use. All you need to do is deliver a punch on the face of the attacker. This is enough to knock him down and leave him injured.

Self Defense Weapons

Another key benefit is that you can’t be disarmed. Whether you engage in a brawl with the attacker, disarming you is impossible. The weapon stays at your knuckles. Finally, it is pretty effective in self defense situations. A single or a couple of punches would do the job for you.

Live Action Role Play

Believe it or not, I am a cosplayer as well. But, I don’t cosplay very often. On special occasions, such as Halloween, I do take part in different LARP events. Most of the time, I like playing the role of a gangster. To complete my gangster costume, I have to wear brass knuckles.

Yes, this is an offensive cosplay weapon which can be a great costume for a gangster. Many hardcore singers wear this. Several celebrities playing such roles wear this. This weapon suits those playing such characters. So, this weapon actually helps me as a costume during cosplay.

Fashion Wear

My knuckle duster is also a fashion wear for me. As I mentioned many celebrities are seen wearing them. Many of them wore them in the movies. For example, Angelina Jolie worn them in her movie Wanted. Beyonce worn them once on a TV show. Several wrestlers wear them very often.

It is a fashion accessory for me as well. I can just keep wearing them to improve my fashion sense. Among different ways to use my brass knuckles, this is one interesting way. If you are not a fan of using it as a weapon, try wearing it as a fashion accessory!

--

--