You are stronger than you seem, wiser than you think and braver than you believe !

Shubham Bakshi
6 min readNov 12, 2019

--

I know you’ve hit rock bottom,

I know you’ve been through a lot,

I know you’re too afraid to start it all over again,

It’s okay to fall down and lose your spark. But make sure when you get back up, you rise as the whole damn fire !

I am writing this story for anyone out there who needs some moral support but is either too afraid to ask someone or have given up on people altogether

There comes a time in everyone’s life when they are backed into a corner, the roof seems to be collapsing upon them and all the doors seem to be shutting. It seems like everything is getting over before it even started but always remember :

Everything is OK in the end, if it’s not OK , it’s not the end

My story

I always wanted to be an Engineer but when I applied for engineering colleges, my rank(of engineering exam) was pretty bad for a decent one. So, instead of getting into a mediocre one, I went for Maths major from a good university (Because I had somewhat good grades in my final standard, 12th). Fast forward two months and I had no idea what I was going to do with my career or how am I going to spend the rest of my days in that university studying something that I don’t love. I had no clue what to do anymore.

But, out of nowhere, that particular year, there were some new engineering courses introduced in a really good university(which previously did not had engineering courses). I missed that list by 0.5% and did not qualified for that particular university. However, that was a university with a really good reputation, so a lot of good rankers for engineering colleges went for this university instead of the usual one . Because of this shift, those (usual ones) colleges didn’t got the seats filled and somehow I qualified for their list despite having a bad rank.

Fast forward today, I work for a really good organisation as an iOS Engineer, having a decent package, but, above all, I love what I do.

5 years ago I had no clue as to what I was going to do in my life. But life presented me with an opportunity and I grabbed and held onto it and created a plan.

Was it easy? No.

Was it worth it? Yes !

The only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven't found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle.

— Steve Jobs

There are unlimited possibilities to what you can do in life. People will hate you, despise you, tell you you’re on the wrong path, try to mould you to their terms.

Everyone wants to tell you what to do and what’s good for you. They don’t want you to find your own answers, They want you to believe theirs. But remember, to travel is better than to arrive; It’s the journey, not the destination that matters

People will quit on you. You have to get up everyday and make sure you don’t quit on yourself.

Jeeveshu Ahluwalia, one of my favourite standup comedians, once said in his video —

There is one question you should ask yourself; If something happens to your loved ones, If you have a pet who gets hit by a car, your girlfriend cheats on you, husband dumps you, you lose every piece of penny you ever saved, what is one thing that will make you happy that evening ?

You figure that out, you run for it !

For me, it was creating software that matters to people, that help resolve their problem and that makes their life easier. When I’m sitting in front of that computer and creating something, nothing else matters to me

There’s a really famous 5 by 5 rule —

If it’s not gonna matter in 5 years, don’t spend more than 5 minutes being upset about it

Sometimes our plans don’t work out the way we want it to, everything comes crashing down onto us and we are too afraid to move forward in life ,but

that is the exact moment when you should move because you should not be afraid of moving on but rather be afraid of staying there for the rest of your life

Sometimes, you just have to take the leap of faith and hope that these dots that you have laid throughout your journey will somehow connect in the future

Hope is like the sun, which, as we journey toward it, casts the shadow of our burden behind us

— Samuel Smiles

People believe that they are not unique or smart as others and that’s why they don’t succeed in life. Success has no definite meaning. What success means to one person might be different for the other. Everyone is unique in their own sense

All children are artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once they grow up

— Pablo Picasso

You just have to believe in yourself and do what needs to be done and you’ll see the rest the things will start falling in place because, at the end, everything makes sense

There are people less qualified than you, doing the things you want to do, simply because they decide to believe in themselves. Period.

It is not easy to get back up in life when you’ve been knocked down, bruised and left alone. It is not easy to gather the courage to get back in for another round. But, if it was easy, everybody would do it !

The best part of hitting rock bottom is that there is only one direction to go, UP !

Dedication and perseverance is the key to being happy and successful in life. You have to find your calling. You have to find something that doesn’t let you sleep or wakes you up in the middle of the night because of the commitment and excitement towards it. Once you figure that out, nothing and no one can stop you !

There is no chance, no destiny, no fate that can hinder or control the firm resolve of a determined soul

— Ella Wheeler Wilcox

I was bullied a lot when I was a kid just because I look different from others around me. As a kid, because of this, I had developed a mindset that everyone thinks bad of me and makes fun of me and I stopped talking to others thinking everyone is bad. It was not until someone stood up for me against those bullies and showed me, everyone is not bad, everyone is not against me and above all, everyone is not the same

Just because someone treated you in bad sense or hurt you, doesn’t necessarily means that you should treat others the same way. Sometimes we have to learn to forgive others.

The world is already considered a bad place, let’s not make it any worse

Your mind is a really clever thing that puts all your parts to work, make sure they do well but above all restricts you from doing something new and unique, never done before and disguising it fear

Birds born in cages think freedom is a crime

You have to let go of that fear of failure. Fear is the killer of innovation and uniqueness.

What’s the worst that could happen if you fail ? You’ll end up where you started.

But what if you succeed? That’s a really big what if that could change your whole life ! Isn’t that a risk worth taking ?

I just want to finish off the things by saying that all it takes is a little courage and perseverance to get back up on your feet and start things over. I know it’s hard but life is hard. I wish I could tell you otherwise but it isn’t the case. So we can either stay down and complain about it or we can get back up and show the world what we are made of !

The only thing stopping you from becoming the best version of you is you

--

--