Can I Start a Blog in 2024?

Balakumaran Velumani
5 min readMay 22, 2024

--

If you’re considering starting a blog in 2024, this article is here to guide you. We’ll help you understand the pros and cons and whether it’s a good idea for you.

Firstly, Blogging is writing articles or sharing valuable content on your website (Blog). People can search for and find your article on Google or social media platforms.

You can write case studies, experiences, reviews, daily activities, and any of your thoughts on the blog.

Can I Start a Blog in 2024?

  • The question is, Can I Start a Blog in 2024?

People start blogs for different purposes, such as earning money, fame, sharing knowledge, exposing business products, etc.,

Whatever the case, at the end of the day, your articles need to drive traffic to be a successful blog. That’s where the real challenges begin.

My Experience

I have been blogging for almost four years, and I have experienced many ups and downs. Sometimes, I even feel like quitting and starting something else.

The reason for this mindset is Google’s SEO Algorithm Updates and my inconsistency.

Yes, I entirely depended on Google’s organic traffic by optimizing my SEO for my blog. This may have been my biggest mistake, and I regret it now.

Tip: Don’t depend on a single traffic stream, like me. Diversify it by being active on social media and email marketing.

Whenever Google releases its core update, my website traffic goes down significantly.

I understand Google is doing this to provide better information to its audiences.

But how can big Domain Authority websites like Forbes still rank top in the search engine, even with their average articles?

If Domain Authority matters, then I still doubt the future of New Bloggers.

Even though my blog is related to niche, I’m entirely focusing on a particular range of audiences.

But I feel exhausted when my articles are ranked on the 4th or 5th pages or not even on the 10th, compared to the non-niche blog pages ranked first.

Well, it’s a part of business. We might have ups and downs once we start blogging.

Also, we have to be consistent on the blogging platforms. We never take a break or quit if we feel the published new articles are not ranking or getting views.

That’s another mistake I made during my initial phase of blogging. Hence, I suffered a lot in driving traffic, reaching audiences, and increasing sales.

Difficulties for Starting a New Blog

Below are the difficulties you might face if you plan to start a blog in 2024. They are:

Cost To Start a Blog

The blog is not an easy-peasy amount to spend and start. It’s expensive. Yes, you have to spend money on hosting, themes, email marketing, speed-up plugins, etc.,

Let me list the costs of those plugins and software.

  • Hosting Plugin: Starting with the server and domain names might cost you at least $100.
  • Theme: You can start with $50 design theme templates.
  • SEO Plugins: Plugins like Yoast costs around $99 to maintain the SEO on your blogs.
  • Email Marketing: Initially, getting the subscribers list and sending the email newsletters would cost $20/month.
  • Miscullencous: Also, to perform good speed, image optimization, security lock, keyword tools, and writing tools, it will cost you an additional $150 to $200.

Overall, when you have a budget of $1000/year in your pocket, you can build a professional blog from day 1.

Aritifical Intellgience

AI is emerging day by day. When you plan to start an organic human-written word blog, then your first competitor is AI.

Firstly, go to Chatgpt or other writing AI tools and describe the things to write in 3000 words. It will print out in a few seconds.

See, machines overtake all your research & hard-works over a minute.

However, Search Engines like Google do not suggest AI-written articles. (We are not sure if this is the case.)

Spammers, Fake Bloggers, and Attention seekers use these AI opportunities to compete with real bloggers.

Consistency

Once you publish the first article, you will not see anything.

After I’ve published 50+ articles, I can consistently see 100-page views on my blog.

I plan to give up every day when I see the stats. But, anyhow, some energy is pushing me to do it now and then decide.

That’s why I have these experiences with blogging. I recommend you be consistent with Blogging for the next year without expecting a single view or response.

Yes, my words might look hard for you. But that’s the hard truth.

Google’s Competition

As mentioned above, Google is not going to welcome warmly. You have to prove yourself as a worthy blogger.

The competition is heavy on Google’s search engine. Don’t expect your articles to rank top with those of big companies.

Better target the low-competition and long-tail keywords and write detailed, helpful articles.

When you approach these strategies on your blog in its initial days, you’ll get better views and traffic, and as time goes on, you can compete with big shots.

Bottom Line: Can I Start a Blog?

You might feel that starting a blog after reading the above chapters is not a good practice. (I mostly discussed the difficulties only.)

Starting a blog was easy ten years ago; everyone can do it and gain traffic and revenue.

But now, it takes work, but it is doable. If the answer to the questions below is yes, then you can Start a Blog right now.

The questions

  • Are you ready to dedicate yourself to a blog daily for the next 1 or 1.5 years?
  • Do you have at least $1000/year to invest for the next three years? (Consider it non-recoverable for the safety side).
  • Can you publish a new article once a week and update at least three or four articles per month?
  • Can you maintain the social media platforms consistently even though they have no results?
  • Are you ready to give up your weekend parties for a few days?

If so, start a blog!

Blogging Tips

I hope you’ve decided to start it. The tips below will help you grow your blog.

  • Do SEO: SEO is the crucial step you need to take from day 1 of Blogging. If you failed to do On-Page SEO and Off-Page SEO steps, then don’t expect the traffic.
  • Do Keyword Research: Research the keywords and find the best low-competition and high-search-volume keywords. Long-tail keywords generally perform well on Google. You can use any free or paid keyword research tools.
  • Speed Optimization: Optimize the Site Speed. Users will get off immediately when your blog takes too long to load. This might increase the Bounce rate of your articles, and you know it’s a bad SEO signal. So, make sure to concentrate on speed and mobile-responsive designs.
  • Be Consistent: As mentioned above, be consistent and regularly update the articles if they are outdated.

Conclusion

If you’ve money, blogging is easy to start and publish 1 or 2 articles. However, maintaining the blog for the long run is difficult.

So, mentally, you have to prepare for the blogging business and dedicate yourself. If you do, you will see the results and revenue.

Feel free to comment your doubts and appreciate it if you enjoyed the article.

--

--

Balakumaran Velumani

Balakumaran Velumani is a Professional Blogger and blog consultant for YouTubing. You can find his work at https://strangershow.com/