The Simple Solution To My Insomnia

David Weldy
2 min readJul 18, 2023
Photo By Author

I had suffered with insomnia since the late 70s when I completed a nearly 2 year adventure across the USA on my motorcycle (Travels With Bear). Whether that had any bearing on my insomnia, no doctor could tell me.

I tried every type of prescription that is available. No amount of Ambien, Lunesta, Restoril or anything worked. Exercises, drinking milk all the other bullshit did not work.

I slept maybe an hour, 2 hours if I was lucky. Combine that with my sleep apnea and I was in a living hell.

I went from doctor to doctor to doctor. All to no avail.

I went to a doctor who had just emigrated from India. “Dr. Rohan” suggested a simple solution to try. “Try using a night mask at night and let’s see what that does,” said Dr. Rohan (I could never spell his last name).

I told the good doctor I already have a CPAP mask I wore at night. “Then one more won’t hurt, right?” Dr. Rohan said. I was ready to just give up.

But his statement, “Then one more won’t hurt, right?” kept going through my mind. Oh, hell, why not?

I bought a night mask at Walmart…and let it sit in the bag for a week. I just felt it wouldn’t do anything for me.

“Then one more won’t hurt, right?” Okay, OKAY DR. ROHAN!

--

--

David Weldy

Living life to the fullest in Alabama. I talk about my retirement and life itself. "You never know who you are until you travel into the unknown alone."-DW😁