Microphone Battle: Shure SM7B vs Electro-Voice RE20

Brianna Ansaldo
4 min readApr 10, 2024

--

As a content creator and producer in the podcasting space, I am always on the hunt for the best microphones to make my voice and our client’s voices sound super fancy.

There are two heavyweights in the podcast industry that I was eager to pin against each other in a battle to the death.

Well, maybe not death. No microphones were harmed in the making of this episode I promise.

The Contenders: RE20 and SM7B

Introducing into the ring, the Electro-Voice RE20 and the Shure SM7B.

Both microphones are similar in cost (around AU$800) and they are probably the microphones that you see used the most in podcasting and radio.

But are they the best?

Who is the winner?

Would I even choose one of these microphones for my clients or our personal podcasting projects?

In this battle, I aimed to compare the audio quality, sibilance, plosives, suitability for vocalists and overall sound. I also had our Lead Videographer and Designer, Alex join me so that we could hear how these microphones performed with both male and female voices

Electro-Voice RE20

The Electro-Voice RE20, a veteran in the microphone industry, is often hailed as the industry standard for radio and broadcasting.

Its distinct sound profile and flat frequency response make it a popular choice for broadcasters and podcasters looking for a reliable and consistent microphone.

However, during my testing, I found that the RE20 exhibited a pronounced sibilance and lacked depth in the bottom end, which affected its overall suitability for my voice and recording style.

It performed well for vocalists during my singing test, as it had a nice sparkle in the top end, but if you’re looking for a vocal microphone there are better options at this price point.

Shure SM7B

The Shure SM7B is a versatile microphone known for its warmth and depth.

While the SM7B provided a rich sound with ample body, I noted that it tended to emphasise warmth more than required, resulting in a slightly “muddy” sound for my voice. It also felt a bit flat for Alex’s voice.

The male voice was suited more to the RE20 in my opinion as it brings out less of the bottom end tones.

The Verdict

After thorough testing and evaluation, I crowned the Shure SM7B as the winner of this microphone battle.

With its ability to capture warmth, depth, and clarity in audio recordings, the SM7B proved to be the better fit for my podcasting needs.

While both microphones are top contenders in the podcasting world, the SM7B edged out the RE20 in terms of sound quality and versatility.

However, I do have to point out that neither of these microphones would be my actual pick for podcasters. Although they perform exceedingly well, the overall sound from both of these microphones didn’t leave me overly enthused.

At the end of this test, I felt that both of these microphones would require a decent amount of work in the post production EQ phase to get them sounding the way I’d want them to.

Perhaps I’m picky, but I am an audio nerd with a Bachelor’s Degree in Audio Production and around 15 years of experience, so I’ll cut myself some slack.

Final Thoughts

Choosing the right microphone for podcasting is a personal decision that depends on individual preferences, recording environments, and vocal characteristics.

As always, these opinions are my own and are based on the tests I’ve performed with my voice.

This particular battle was conducted at a high end studio in a controlled environment, so it’s important to be aware that if your studio setup is different, the results will vary.

I never like to say “it depends” and “everyone is a winner”, so I won’t.

The Shure SM7B comes out on top for me today, but there will be more battles to come in my quest to find the perfect podcasting microphone.

GEAR WE USE HERE AT BAMBY MEDIA:

Electro-Voice RE20

SE Dyncaster DCM8

Rode Boom Arm

XLR Cables

Sony ZV E10

Elgato Camlink

Aputure Amaran 200d LED Video Light

Aputure Light Box Min

Pre-Amp/Mixers we recommend:

Focusrite Clarett+

Rode Streamer X

Rodecaster Pro II

Rodecaster Pro Duo

BAMBY MEDIA LINKS:

Free Podcast Audit Service

LinkedIn

PodCoach Service

Bamby Media Services

YouTube Channel

--

--

Brianna Ansaldo

Head Honcho at Bamby Media — Australia’s largest independent podcast production agency.