Bamidele Aloko
1 min readAug 25, 2018

Waiting for the cherry.

There is this beautiful tree,
I pass every morning.
It’s branches heavy with fruit,
red, black, some still green.
Each time I walk by,
the ground I scan for fallen fruit,
sometimes I find, most times I don’t.
Whatever I find is never enough
and much as I hate to sulk
I walk away, head hanging down.
So I wake up one morning
and decide to face it.
I am lazy.
Lazy people don’t eat
for a sluggard’s craving
will be the death of him
because his hands refuse to work.
So all day long he craves for more.
What would I not give to have ripe cherries, enough and spare?
Rise early, commune with my Creator,
put my cherry picking in his able hands,
plan to pluck, eat and be satisfied,
having enough and spare.
Success is mine. Cherry tree, here I come.

Follow me on Twitter @bamsprings Photo credit — skitterphoto

Bamidele Aloko

I write at the intersection of entrepreneurship, learning and creativity. For more, check out http://www.tcoath.com.ng