Idol Castillo 👑
3 min readMay 5, 2018

The “IDOL”

Beginning is always the hardest, I know. But am going to finish this. And with my best might, to furthest point my vocabulary can reach up, am going to let you know who “IDOL” is holistically.

Naturally, “IDOL” was the name given to me by my parents and I, personally, considered it one of the most unique and no-one-sounds-like names, indeed. That’s why, since then, I’ve always been used to the weird and awkward reaction of the people who first hear my name. Well, whoever would not right? Who in this seven billion people would give a name like “IDOL?”

On the other hand, I was and will always be thankful for that name. From that alone, I felt so much special and loved because of that so-much unique identity. It’s like, I was greatly apreciated and idolized even from the moment I was in my mother’s womb. But do not look up high to me so much. There were no statues built for me. I am just an ordinary man, just ordinary. ‘Twas just a name. But honestly, I am into great desire of playing the role of my name to my life. I do. And I really am and will always will.

Forwarding up to present, I am now 18-year old lad with a common life like others. Nothing so much is expected to me aside from being one of the honors in class which should be maintained, my singing habit I have enhirited from both of my parents. Oops! I’ve forgotten, maybe you were asking, where did my parents get my name? How it was originated? The truth is, they’re both singers. My dad, Victor N. Castillo, and my mom, Yolanda A. Bana, both came from a family where singing is highly valued. There came one moment of their lives where they equally admired each. In short, they IDOLized one another because of their singing styles which they wanted to transfer to their sons and daughters. They dreamt that one day, their kids will be stars of music or at least, be known or shine in music industry. So there! I’ve become an Idol, literally. Yay!

Continuing my life story, we are a second family. My mom had her first. Despite that fact I cannot obviate, we accepted each as if we are completely siblings by blood. We build no walls, we build bridges instead because we all have one desire to make my mom become genuinely happy.

Since I was in grade one, my mom left and worked abroad, until now. While my dad served both the light and the foundation of our simple and humble family. But my mom never forgotten to come back home anually. That sounds good!

I believe, firmly, everything works for good. Each battle and struggle of our family brought something good and added fairly to our personality, and to our being.

By now, what I love to do most is, of course, singing. I am also an active media user such as instagram, facebook, twitter. I love photography, art and calligraphy as well.

My heart also desires to serve God, at my best. My life verses are Mark 1:11, Jeremiah 29:11, Romans 8:28 and Galatians 2:20. Inspire the heart, light up the spirit, and win more souls!

At present, I’m planning to take up Bachelor of Science in Psychology in college which will come soon! Quiet excited about it!

This is just an excerpt! Haha! Stay tuned to the coming updates! Thanks everyone! 💓