I have one green eye and one brown eye to see through people

Banana Rocket
2 min readJul 5, 2020

--

I have one green eye and one brown eye to see through people. The green eye sees truth, but the brown eye sees much, much more.

Last week when I met Mrs. Jeanny, the old lady who lives at the second floor, she greeted me with a big smile, but my green eye showed me grief. There’s so much pain, I chose to close my green eye. It hurt me too. I felt the pain.

I met a new guy at the office whom people talked so much about. We didn’t talk much, but my brown eye showed me things that scared me. Not only the truth, but the lies and the ambition that the guy has. If you saw ambition in its true form, you might wish not to have it with you. It’s as scary as hell. It’s eating up the soul without a person knowing it.

Sometimes I see good things, too. Seeing hope with my brown eye, that’s so enlightening. A guy bumped me on the train, rushing to get off the train with his cheap suit and an old ripped backpack. He didn’t say sorry. But my green eye showed me his kindness, and the brown eye showed me his hope. He looked tired, but the hope gave him the energy to survive.

I rarely look in the mirror. My green eye and my brown eye might show me who I really am. It scares me the most, to know who I really am. I wonder if all this time, I have been true to myself, and whether I’ve let ambition eating up my soul.

--

--

Banana Rocket
0 Followers

Writing random short fiction. In English or Bahasa Indonesia. I’m not a professional writer, only practicing how to write.