Part 1/3 : The ECE GATE Exam Odyssey

Bandana Prasad
4 min readJan 22, 2024

--

In this article, I’ll discuss the GATE exam, an annual entrance test in India for postgraduate programs that also serves as a screening test for most of the PSU recruitments. I’ll also cover my prep tactics and valuable lessons from my experience.

Why Choose GATE? My Rationale

I started my electronics journey in 2014 in the ECE department at USICT, IP University, drawn by my love for math and science. Although I initially wanted to pursue CSE, I ended up in ECE branch.

During my 2nd year semester break, I undertook training at SAIL, where I designed a power supply on a PCB using SMT (Surface-mount technology) process— a first for me and a thrilling experience. By my 5th semester, I became engrossed in microelectronics and microprocessors, not knowing these would pave the way to my future career as a VLSI engineer.

By the end of the semester, I had made up my mind to pursue a career in the electronics field, so I enrolled myself in the one-year GATE program at MADE EASY, which is one of the top coaching institutes for GATE aspirants. Now the real adventure began!

Gate Preparation Journey

I started MADE EASY classes in my sixth semester, January 2017, fitting in weekend sessions from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. alongside college. Engaging teaching made the hours enjoyable. However, a three-hour commute and limited access to healthy food as a hosteller made it challenging to stay focused and energized.

During the first six to seven months, the instructors covered network theory, electronic devices, control systems, signals and systems, digital circuits, and a few communication topics. That year, I eagerly looked forward to summer, dedicating the break to GATE preparation instead of going home, aware I wouldn’t have such free time again. I studied in the college library, where I revised my classroom notes, worked on problems from study material, and proactively discussed doubts with faculties. Gradually, I developed a good understanding of most subjects and began to feel confident about the exam.

As the seventh semester began, campus placement season kicked in. Despite initially not aiming for non-core companies, peer discussions swayed me to join the fray. After crafting my first resume, I engaged in an IT company’s placement, but my evident disinterest led to not clearing it, taking up 3–4 weeks. Meanwhile, the GATE coaching sessions intensified, occasionally extending into weekdays to ensure syllabus completion. I resolved to withdraw from further college placements and devote all my free time to preparing for the GATE exam, as I genuinely enjoyed the core subjects. Unfortunately, due to college examinations, I missed many of my electromagnetics and analog classes. The situation worsened in November when final year projects and exams ran concurrently, compelling me to prioritize academics and temporarily halt my GATE exam preparation.

With the arrival of December, I began solving previous years’ question papers. By the month’s end, I started participating in test series, which I considered crucial for such competitive exams. I consistently gave one full-length test and a few subject-specific tests weekly, meticulously analyzing the results to prevent repeating mistakes. My scores hovered around 55, occasionally reaching 60. Aiming for a public sector unit jobs and Top IITs required a rank below 300 in GATE, which meant I needed to achieve 60+ marks based on the past year’s trends.

One thing that really helped me remember the concepts was my short notes and formula chart. Since the coaching notes were very comprehensive, I prepared my own short notes for some subjects so that I could revise them quickly before the test series. Also, I wrote formulas on chart paper and pasted it on my room wall so that I could memorize them and not waste time in the exam deriving formulas.

Exam Countdown Begins

As the GATE exam neared, anxiety overshadowed my preparation, with skipped topics causing more worry than the content I had mastered. In the crucial last fortnight, instead of tending to my well-being, my health habits slipped, amplifying my stress. Living amongst my peers in the hostel, their exam inquiries only increased my tension, pushing me to seclude myself from almost everyone.

On exam day, 10th February 2018, the tension was tangible. I started with the aptitude and math sections, my usual strategy, then progressed to the lengthier ones. Nearing the end, I was torn between options for several questions. In a last-ditch effort to increase my attempt count, I guessed a few, leaving the hall with a sense of disappointment in my efforts.

After checking the answer key, I realized that all my uncertain answers led to negative marks, leaving me with a score under 40. This was a hard blow, as I felt that avoiding guesses could have yielded a decent score. The disheartening outcome crushed my hopes, especially after the extensive effort I put into the exam.

Results Day Came

Finally, the results were out. I thought I wouldn’t be able to qualify, or that I might get such a bad rank it wouldn’t help me at all. However, when the results were announced, they weren’t as bad as I had expected – I was around the 3,000 rank. I learned that at the time of my exam, the GATE 2018 paper was really tough and those who scored above 57 marks actually ended up with ranks below 100.

During the exam, I doubted my skills and preparation; I never considered that the paper itself could also be tough. This self-doubt completely messed up my performance.

So, what’s next? I will share more about my subsequent journey in my next article, and I will also discuss some good opportunities where GATE scores are not required.

Thanks for reading! If you found it valuable, please share it with your network. Also, you can connect with me on Medium & LinkedIn

--

--