Does Bangladesh’s independence inform your American political identity?

Bangladeshi Identity Submissions
2 min readDec 16, 2018

--

Brishty Khan: This past week at work, one of my co-workers actually asked about Bangladesh in light of George H.W. Bush’s death. I had a chance to discuss our Liberation War from my perspective and educate her about our history, and I do believe that era was an instance of misguided American foreign policy. There’s a very direct link between what happens in the United States and how it impacts Bangladesh, and I do believe we (Bangladeshi expats) would benefit from learning about American foreign policy and why that feeds into our past and our present. It can better inform how we engage as informed American citizens moving forward.

Muniba Hassan: My family’s sacrifices have influenced my commitment towards social justice and fighting for the rights and representation of others. My parents have instilled a deep sense of humanitarianism into myself, my siblings, as well as their grandchildren That is the legacy of Bangladesh’s independence for me.

Saadman Reza. By Terran Ho

Saadman Reza: While the Liberation War of 1971 does not necessarily inform my day-to-day American political activity, I definitely am in favor of more of the federal budget going towards international aid.

Sayeeda Jamilah: Culturally, I have and feel a deep connection to Bangladesh. However, I cannot say Bangladesh’s independence solely informs my American political identity because I was raised in the United States. I don’t deny nor discount the tragedies and genocide that occurred during 1971 war, just like I don’t brush aside genocide that has occurred and is occurring in other parts of the world due to the unwillingness of key superpowers to intervene. My American political identity is defined partly by the politics at home, partly by American foreign policy and, lastly, by the world’s overall geopolitical condition.

Unlisted

--

--

Bangladeshi Identity Submissions

Follow our Publication: The Bangladeshi Identity Project — Stories and art on growing up and living Bangladeshi in the West.