Bar Gomes
2 min readApr 12, 2020

Why our generation needs rock n roll more than ever.

Who didn’t have a Nirvana or Led Zeppelin shirt which you wore to school with totally dirty Converse all stars? If you don’t know what Im talking about, you probaly used to think that chart music is much cooler back in the day.

I remember asking someone if they have some Linkin Park CDs to give me for a few days. Or when I discovered Aerosmith and went to a place in my city in Brazil where people would illegaly sell copies of CDs. I couldn’t afford the real ones and even if I could have, people in my city didn’t know what Aerosmith was. For many people, rock n roll stars were rebels without a cause. But if you really look into it, yes they were rebels, yes they did crazy stuff, but all of them had something in common. They were all poets hiding their pain in those amazing guitar solos, screaming beautiful poems that we don‘t hear anymore when I put the radio on. Instead it’s just someone saying they will fuck someone over or they have a nice car or that girl is a slut or stuff that makes absolutely no sense (as I explored in my last post — it’s cool to be an idiot).

I miss the days of those rebel poets like Freddy Mercury, Steven Taylor and Jim Morrison, singing about love, beauty and craziness. And of course, the Arctic Monkeys and The Black Keys.

But our generation doesn’t show much interest in stuff like that. Why are the kids wearing grungy clothes (which is cool now), and listening to really weird music without real lyrics? Maybe if the world would put on some rock n roll very loud in their homes and let the love go inside their veins, our world would become a bit better.

Bar Gomes

Full Time Thinker. I’m a chef and bouncer from Brazil based in Berlin, Germany. I love carrot cake, bulldogs and analog photograpy.