Barbara Malmet
5 min readJan 1, 2020

My Year in Activism 2019

Here’s my look back at what I did to promote democracy, to fight against demagoguery. Just something I can tell my grandkids about! In January, I stopped by #FearlessGirl for inspiration.

It was also the third January in a row I marched with other fearless women and some men who support us in the #WomensMarch

In February #RiseAndResistNY sponsored a march when Trump called “a national emergency” for his campaign vanity project, known as “the wall.” Some people were arrested. I chose not to be. It was outside his tacky tower on Central Park West.

Also in February, a second time we gathered to protest the racist, xenophobic anti-immigrant wall. This time we were in Union Square.

In March, I went to an early fundraiser for @RepDavids at Amy Siskind’s. Supporting women who run and win is part of being an activist.

Also in March, I decided to begin my #StandInEveryDriveway protest- because every voice makes a difference.

In April, I joined a march in Times Square demanding that we see the #FullMueller, which by the way, we haven’t yet.

Also in April, I met up with fellow re-sister @lfkraus, the Mouse and I shared a mousse! When you meet on Twitter and become true friends in real life, it’s everything.

In May, I stood alone on 34th Street and First Avenue with a homemade sign. Some people passing in cars gave me thumbs up. Some gave me the finger. Stand up, fight back.

In June, I randomly ran into @ejeancarroll a week after she went public, charging Trump with raping her in the dressing room of a department store in Manhattan. Her allegations were denied by him, of course. Because that’s what he does. I believe her.

In July, there were protests around the country to #CloseTheCamps but as I write this, Trump’s concentration camps remain open for business, benefitting his donors and traumatizing thousands of immigrant children and their parents. This, to me, is the worst crime against humanity the regime of cruelty continues to perpetrate.

Also in July, I joined a protest in Riverhead, Long Island on about the same outrage. #LightsForLiberty

In September, extraordinary activist Amy Siskind organized #WeThePeopleMarch. We the people came from across the country to march down Pennsylvania Avenue in 90 degree heat demanding Congress “Do your job.” A week later Nancy Pelosi announced the inquiry into impeachment. I also stopped by the White House while I was in the swamp.

In October, a heartfelt meet up with fellow activist and all around wonderful human being @JadedCreative because nothing says resistance like a soul brother and sister.

Finally, in December, it was the night before the House voted on #ArticlesOfImpeachment, and there were 600 protests across the country. I was in Times Square with 10 thousand other engaged citizens in the rain!

Looking back, I’m sorta surprised about what I’ve accomplished as an activist. Showing up is everything. Even if it’s just in your own driveway!

See you January 18th for the 4th #WomensMarch!