Winter, Dry Eyes, and Joy.

Heather M Barnes
2 min readFeb 2, 2024

--

I just had my annual medical eye exam yesterday. I feel pretty good for a 50 (clear throat) something-year-old but my eyes, especially in the winter, betray me. Dry eyes are a real thing, even in the rainy Pacific Northwest. And it can affect how clearly I see on any given day. I must have had my upcoming eye exam on my mind as I fell asleep two nights ago. Just before I woke yesterday morning, in the midst of a theological debate going on in my dream, the answer came to me: “Just read John 20:20”. Get it?…20:20…..eye exam…seeing clearly? haha. Well, when I woke up I decided I would see just what John 20:20 had to say. Maybe it would answer the questions of the universe! Here it is:

“As he spoke, he showed them the wounds in his hands and his side. They were filled with joy when they saw the Lord!”

When the disciples were at their lowest, feeling like all was lost, Jesus made his presence known to them. His accompanying wounds not only proved his identity to them but were evidence of how far his love for them had taken him. He had loved them to death and beyond, defeating death for them. They saw him! And seeing him filled them with joy!

Needless to say, but I will…my disjointed dream has not answered all my theological questions! But one thing it did do was remind me that seeing God more clearly and experiencing his loving presence is the only thing that brings joy in the midst of the challenges and pain of our human experience. We can trust that he understands us in all our humanness, and that he has done everything needed to restore us to life in union with Him. As he lives, we live!

Even if we are going through a winter season in our lives, may we all see Jesus more clearly, trust in his deep loving commitment to all humanity, and be filled with his joy.

--

--

Heather M Barnes

Hi, I’m Heather Barnes. I am a content writer, editor, social media manager and co-host of Daily Radio Bible, a non-profit daily podcast.