Where I want to be

Barnett Klane
1 min readMay 3, 2017

--

Startup fails, leaving $30k of debt.

Unable to get job, move into parent’s house.

Fail to launch first consulting client’s website.

I’m not where I want to be.

No job after 50+ applications.

Move to San Francisco, live on couches for 4 months.

Underestimate client’s project, paid below minimum wage per hour.

I’m not where I want to be.

Run out of money in San Francisco, move back home.

Part-time startup job in San Francisco runs out of money after 3 months.

Interview for more jobs, get denied from them all.

I’m not where I want to be.

Receive an offer for junior engineer role at an early stage startup.

Team grows 7x while receiving 4 promotions in 2.5 years within engineering.

Transition to Product Management role.

I’m where I want to be.

It’s been a challenging four years. Along the way I knew where I wanted to be, and was on the right path. While I have plenty to still accomplish in my career, I can’t help but feel relief to have reached a point where I know,

I am exactly where I want to be.

--

--

Barnett Klane

Hacking the mainframe of life. Building @bugcrowd. Built https://snow.watch . Guacamole enthusiast. ⛷ 🚴