It is about the bike

Barnett Klane
1 min readMay 19, 2015

--

Once moving into San Francisco, it becomes apparent that bicycle is the best mode of transportation. With minimal funds, I wanted to find a way to get one. So I choose the Bike Kitchen, a co-op with volunteers assisting others to build a bicycle using there collection of second hand parts.

My bicycle

I was able build my bicycle from second hand parts over the course of a few weeks. Yet since the first day I have had malfunctions (broken pedal, axel, de-railer, flat tires, etc).

Each time I go back to the Bike Kitchen, learn about the problem, ways to solve it, and give it a try. Friends try to convince me to get a new bicycle to prevent these problems from happening but I want to fail. Only by something breaking will I learn how to fix it. I find understanding the mechanics of tools I use helpful, both in biking and life.

--

--

Barnett Klane

Hacking the mainframe of life. Building @bugcrowd. Built https://snow.watch . Guacamole enthusiast. ⛷ 🚴