Who is Mr. Average? — Introduction

Barry Riemer
4 min readMay 6, 2019

--

In the mid-eighties, I responded to an ad asking for people of various backgrounds to take a survey, for which $20 cash would be given to each participant. I volunteered and found myself in a room with maybe a hundred other people. We were asked to complete the survey to the end, which would take about an hour, and we could expect a $20 bill as we left the room.

The survey itself was a combination of questions for which a scaled response was expected, others with multiple choice, and still others with blanks to be filled. Questions were personal in nature, including our occupation, salary, hobbies, family, children, preferred transportation, movie genre choices, historical heroes, groceries. You get the picture. In the end, I was exhausted and felt like I had really earned the compensation provided.

A couple of weeks later, I was contacted by the marketing research company who sponsored the survey. They asked me to return to take surveys and to evaluate products. I was told that compensation would be more than had been issued at survey night. It sounded fun.

I returned to the same large room, where a couple of nicely dressed executive types greeted me warmly. It was odd to me that the room was otherwise empty. They asked about my availability on weekday nights, to which I responded positively. They asked that I take a shorter, and more targeted survey that homed in on my familiarity with various products. After I completed the test, I was thanked. I was given an envelope with $200 cash. This got my attention.

In the ensuing weeks, we met at a race track where I would test drive an unmarked automobile, but which reminded me of a Nissan. I at the time owned a 200SX. I later found that this was a prototype for Infiniti, which was introduced a couple of years later. Another time I was told to visit a time share luxury building and stay a couple of nights. Other times I was asked to use unlabeled dishwashing soap, drink unlabeled soda, and even use a floor fan that turned on and off with the clap of my hands. I was being paid between $200 and $500 for each item I evaluated.

This was fun and rewarding. I would get calls, told where I was expected to be, try the product or take it home, take a survey, and walk away with an envelope fat with cash.

During this period, I visited a lawyer who had been working with me on a legal matter. He had all of my personal information. We had developed a friendly relationship, and I told him about the side job I had fallen into on some weekday nights. I told him I was haunted that I was never told why I was chosen to evaluate all this stuff. He said, “Are you kidding? You have an average salary, live in an average town, have the average number of children, and even have an average regular job that pays the average salary. You are like gold to these people. You are MR. AVERAGE! These people are marketing products intended for the most average people in society.”

I couldn’t help but muse at how odd it was to celebrate my mediocrity. I also felt rather powerful. How powerful I would never know.

Power is fleeting, though. At some time, we all could meet the criteria for being in the average demographic. Within a couple of months, the calls stopped. And, that was that. I might have said something, like I had gotten a job promotion, that made me no longer average. I later saw an ad, asking for folks to take a survey for which each participant would be awarded $20 cash. Been there. And it was a good ride.

Today, when I see an Infiniti drive by, I wonder if the reason it’s on the road is because I gave the approval. Probably not. Well ….

_________________________________

Meet Henry Mellon. He is a grocery clerk who lives in Mundelein, Illinois which in 1958 is referred to as one of the most average of cities. Average crime, average salaries, average home prices, average schools with average class sizes. Henry takes an extensive survey while at trade school. Some months later he is visited by product evaluation marketing execs. He is told that he met every possible criterion to become the most average man in America. And they wanted him.

There would two catches, though. Although he would be greatly rewarded for his evaluations, his compensation would be put in trust as he would otherwise no longer be average. And, no one could ever know that he is Mr. Average as by revealing his identity he would be subjected to bribes and blackmail. And so, he remained a humble grocery clerk.

Henry evaluates many of the toys and gadgets of the time, many of which we today think of icons of the era. He receives the products by delivery, without notes or instructions or labels. Were you Henry, what would you think of the big hoop that arrives without markings? What about a prototype doll for boys who looked like a large soldier wearing army fatigues?

Sometimes he gives the thumbs up, and sometimes the thumbs down. Getting his approval means millions to the company or individual promoting it.

Henry becomes the most powerful man in America. The most powerful man you never heard of.

--

--