Snapping Windows Vertically in Windows 7–10

Bart Riepe
1 min readFeb 28, 2016

--

I recently set up my screens to look something like this:

However, Windows by default doesn’t have the ability to allow you to use windows + arrow key to snap your window to the top (or bottom) of the screen. This only works for the sideways arrow keys, and they only snap to the left or right. That’s obviously not so useful for this use case.

After several fruitless attempts to find a program that replicated this behavior for the top and bottom of a screen, didn’t cost money, and would function for more than 2 screens, I gave up. There is nothing like that, and paying any money for some feature that should’ve been in windows from the startseems a bit of a shame, so I built it myself.

Of course, to prevent that happening to other people, I’m now also releasing it so everyone can vertically snap their windows however they want.

Requirements: The only requirement for using the app is that you have .NET 4.5 installed, which windows will undoubtedly complain about if you don’t have it.

Download

--

--