Bas Beekman
3 min readMay 3, 2017

Baby Groot is cute, but it hurts the Guardians

Guardians of the Galaxy was a fun space-exploring, dancing, alien goofy adventure. Combine that with loveable characters, great humor and a decent storyline, and there was one of my favorite movies of 2014. So you understand how psyched I was for the second movie. So it was Saturday night in the Netherlands, and me and my friends had preordered tickets. Two and half hours later we came out the theater, and we were a little bit disappointed. Especially about what they had done with our favorite character.

First things first, you probably are going to have a good time seeing Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2. The movie is still a fun space exploring adventure, with lots of great humor. Although not every joke lands, because there are way to many, the movie is still packed with great lines that will make you laugh out loud(LOL). The fighting and SGI look pretty good, and Kurt Russel did a great job impersonating a living planet… Wait I’m going to say that again. He did a great job impersonating a LIVING PLANET! And if that doesn’t give you a tiny bit of goosebumps, there is a Yondu fighting scene that will make you lose your mind. So credits to James Gunn for still letting me have fun. But damn there’s absolutely no story development. The characters just kind of run in to one another because Rocket stole some stuff, and chill on one planet the rest of the time. The low story development can be blamed on many people and things, and Baby Groot is one of them.

I know Baby Groot is just made to be cute, I get it. But why? Did the movie need this? Was it necessary to have a cute, cuddly, childish character in the movie? A lot of people in the theater loved him. They were overwhelmed with tingly cuteness of a hero who got from the most badass fighter (Except the Hulk of course)in the Marvel universe, to a useless little tree just to get laughs. Marvel planned this out since the first movie of course. But there completely forgetting the people who loved big badass Groot. I mean look at him.

What’s wrong with this guy? He’s pure awesomeness.

And now they have turned him in to this

Yeah it’s cute

Maybe me and my friends are the only ones who didn’t like it. I mean, there are dozens of youtubers who go absolutely nuts about this little guy. But I got a feeling this is just Marvels cheap way to sell some toys, and try to get some laughs out of the crowd. And it’s working. I don’t blame them for trying to make money. It just feels like they could have done a better movie without twenty minutes of movie time filled with Baby Groot doing cute things. Maybe they could have made a more interesting story, instead of a small tree being ridiculous all the time.

The movie shouldn’t feel like a disappointment for all the crazy things it has what made me love the first Guardians so much. But in the end it kind of does. They focused so much on making things cute and funny that it hurts the compelling story the writers are trying to tell. The franchise will probably return for a third instalment, and I’m looking forward to it. But please Marvel give me back Big Groot. Our make the baby version do some serious stuff, so he’s more then just cute.