One week in the “200 words a day” challenge

Basile Samel
2 min readNov 13, 2018

--

This post is part of my 200 words per day challenge that I am sharing publicly on Twitter in order to improve my writing and develop a writing routine. Feel free to join and comment.

I love writing. But lately I have not been writing much.

When you are running two companies, it is hard to get time to write. Last week I decided that it had to change, and so I set out to develop a routine of scribbling 200 words per day.

I am already observing many repercussions on my everyday life that I want to share with you.

  1. I choose a topic when I wake up, then I get breakfast, and then I start writing first thing in the morning.
  2. It is getting easier by the day to write my 200 words. I struggle less and less. The words are flowing more smoothly. Instead of an hour, it takes me a couple of minutes to reach my daily goal.
  3. I end up with more than 200 words systematically, so getting started is the hardest part.
  4. Writing allows me to give a glimpse of my very soul. I can reveal an entire new depth of my online persona and it is attracting people to me. This way I can work with more people and collaborate with them on my own vision, which is tremendously important when you are building a company.

So far I am really satisfied with it. I just hope I will be creative enough in the future to keep going at it.

Liked this short post ? Follow my adventures in real time on Twitter.

--

--