Underconsumption: What can we learn from TikTok’s newest trend

Katerina Bavaro
3 min readJul 21, 2024

--

Photo by Alexandre Debiève on Unsplash

Around a month ago, I made a blog post regarding Haul Culture and Its Implications. The general thesis of that post was that social media platforms such as YouTube and TikTok promote overconsumption through the type of content they push.

However, it seems to be that a new TikTok trend is starting to push against the narrative of overconsuming. Recently on my for you page, I have started to notice “underconsumption core” becoming a theme. At first, I assumed it was because it was tailored specifically to me, as I have a fascination with intentional living and minimalism which goes hand in hand with underconsumption. I later realized this had become a platform-wide phenomenon.

People have chosen to interpret “underconsumption core” in a few different ways. Some have taken it literally, showing their few possessions and often second-hand items, signifying that they live this kind of lifestyle. Others, on the other hand, have almost made it parody-like. For those who film videos in this way, they often have the hashtag “underconsumption core” where they are showing off one item, with a large collection of other items in the background. In my opinion, I do not understand why people film videos about the latter. Mocking the fact that you are in fact, the opposite of what the trend is trying to promote seems counterproductive.

Nevertheless, I am glad that this topic is trending as it seems as though people are finally waking up to the reality, people simply have too much stuff. I have experienced the same cycle over and over again. I will go shopping and buy something that I decide I like in the moment, I get the dopamine rush from doing said action, and then almost a week later I regret purchasing that item as I already have too much stuff and limited closet space.

Unfortunately, overconsumption is normalized, especially online where influencers are flaunting their hoards of products that they have received for free. It is quite common to see influencers receiving an overwhelming amount of product in PR, which they then promote to their followers to receive more of it in the future.

There has been some discourse on the internet as to how much the average person consumes with some arguing that “underconsumption core” is just normal consumption that is being labelled as trendy. With the average salary in the United States being $63,795 and the rising cost of living it is unlikely that many people have as much disposable income as before. In reality, many people seem to be scraping by with the majority of their income going towards housing, therefore forcing them to spend less in other areas. As mentioned in this Reddit thread, what may have begun as frugality is now a necessity for survival given the current economic landscape.

Of course, it is possible to be “poor” and to be a victim of overconsumption According to several articles, there does seem to be a bit of a connection between hoarding and the scarcity mindset that some living in poverty face. However, online it is overwhelmingly the wealthy who are being represented.

While “underconsumption core” is trendy at the moment I do have hope that it stays around for longer than other trends have in the past. While it may be representative of the times and the recession that is likely to occur within the near future, hopefully, it can teach online consumers a lesson. It is possible to have too many possessions that are of little value to you.

Not too long ago, Marie Kondo took the world by storm by popularizing the Komari method. Her famous rule “asks if it sparks joy” is exactly what I believe.

Personally, I am trying to live a simpler life, with not absolutely nothing, but fewer possessions, which only bring me joy. I find this way of life makes me calmer, and less claustrophobic, and allows me to focus on cultivating new experiences.

--

--

Katerina Bavaro

Katerina is a published author and freelance copywriter interested in social media storytelling.