The Wonderful KSU and Ways to Study…

Billy Calhoun
2 min readJul 19, 2017

--

In the KSU Freshman Seminar Section 04 Summer Semester 2017 CO we had to come up with ways to better students. There are a lot of ways to study and become better at KSU but today I am here to talk about the strategies that help me study over the summer. First is to talk to your professor! Set up an appointment and talk one on one. Then start asking what is going to be on the final, if they have ways to study or if they know a student that would be willing to help. I went to my professor and asked the ways I can be better on the test (I wasn't doing to good). She asked me in what areas are my weak spots and gave my quizzes which she did on her own just for me which is amazing! How many professor or teacher ever did that? He or she would go beyond to help you. The fact is the teacher or professor sees that you want become better and more successful so they are willing to help a student. Like that old saying “if can give water to a horse but you cant make it drink the water.” Meaning the professor can show you the way to do things, but you can’t force them to act. It falls down are YOU willing to take that scary step and become better?

The ways that help me study this summer was to take active notes and become a active listener in class. I think we all can agree both of them are very helpful to study but there are so many more ways for example, I myself use note cards.

I would get one of my friends that was in the class or a different class but knows what I am taking. If you choose to get someone in the class to help that helps build a new friendship and now you have a friend at KSU. How awesome is that? Killed two birds with one stone.

But there are so many ways to study at KSU. You can go online, ask classmates, and the SMART center is wonderful. So far from my personal experiences the professors want to become better and smarter so don’t be shy and think the professor just here for a paycheck! You will be impressed on how much they are willing to work with you and help you find your weak spots. And most people hate math (I know I do) but there are ways to get help and become at math.

--

--