Six months with Atlassian’s Confluence.

Brian Chew
2 min readDec 30, 2019

--

Today, I’m writing about my experience with the project management tech giant, Atlassian’s Confluence. If you don’t already know about confluence, it’s a space management tool; to organize your work into spaces.

$10 for up to 10 members, sounds pretty good. They even host everything for you. Over the six months, I’d been using it, and I’d enjoyed all its features. I even paid an extra $5 a month to get the draw.io plugin.

What’s draw.io? It’s a popular design tool to help you build graphs, diagrams, or architectures directly with a drag-and-drop web editor.

The main issue I found with confluence was: You need to think about the people you’re working with when you use it. It doesn’t matter if they don’t have the discipline nor the practice to document, write, or contribute to any of the spaces.

Sure, you get cool features like seeing who’s changed what, and when, even a nifty feature to revert to the last revised page, but the point is: What does it matter when you’re the only one?

To summarise: As an individual, Confluence is terrific but is nothing short of a stagnant Google Drive, or note-taking app that’s been super-buffed. However, if you’re working in a team: that’s where you’ll find confluence start to shine — provided your team knows what and how to use confluence.

In my life, I’m still stuck with the very people who’re disinterested in the school projects & side-hustles I’m working on; They barely make use of confluence, and it ends up being a stagnant google drive that we store all our glorified notes on.

In 2020, I’ve made the conscious and mindful effort to practice stability and dedication in my craft. I want to be able to make use of a space where I can jot down all my notes and stupid thoughts down on; sure. like a journal.. but not really. I’ve chosen https://notion.so for the way forward.

--

--

Brian Chew

I’m a driven, passionate and a team player who loves everything about technology. https://bchewy.me is my website!