Who is Bri Crofton?

Bri Crofton
2 min readMar 30, 2019

--

Portrait of Bri Crofton, drawn by MrsGendered.

Hello! My name is Bri Crofton. I’m also known as Bri the Bearded Spoonie Babe.

I am a bearded genderqueer woman with PCOS and multiple disabling diagnoses. I live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest with my non-binary trans spouse, AJ Spellman. I am on a mission to normalize women’s facial hair, and to spread love and awareness, both in general and as they pertain to chronic illness, the LGBTQIAP+ community, and intersectional feminism.

We are Reiki practitioners and eclectic witches devoted to the Celtic goddess Brighid. Together, we tend her sacred flame and do our best to stand up for love and justice in the ways that we are able.

I’m a contributor to Fembot Magazine; read my first submission, Becoming a Bearded Woman, to learn more about my perspective and goals.

You may also wish to read my work on HuffPost.

I first intended to use Medium as a place for my prose, but essays that don’t fit elsewhere will pop up here from time to time as well. I plan to update this introduction regularly as I have articles published elsewhere.

If you’d like to see what else I’m up to, feel free to follow me on Instagram. Check out my jewelry, prayer beads and items created from my graphic designs in my shop.

If you’d like to support my writing and activism, you may be interested in becoming a patron. You can also send a one-time tip via PayPal.

I look forward to posting more here.

Wishing you many bright blessings,
Bri

--

--

Bri Crofton

Bri Crofton is a bearded genderqueer woman. A Reiki-practicing witch dedicated to the goddess Brighid, she is passionate about promoting self love.