Optimizing remote meetings with Beastnotes

Boosting my productivity in a world of distant work

Beastnotes
2 min readJul 10, 2020

As the social constructs of enterprises are being rewoven with the threads of video-conferencing, I’ve found myself using Google Meet. A lot. Across large conferences, fireside-chats, panel discussions, and 1-on-1 meetings.

I’ve adapted to this sudden change by trying Beastnotes. And it has worked wonders! The app has helped boost my productivity while attending and conducting remote meetings. Given the increasing prevalence of these meetings in my work life, honestly, it’s quite a win.

In a nutshell, here is where I’ve found Beastnotes beneficial:

A. Capturing key details during meetings

Beastnotes is designed for video-conferences. With the browser extension, I can focus on the presentation or discussion at hand and simultaneously note down key points.

B. Following up with clear action items

Clearly recording the discussion and action items is half the battle won. Following up is as easy. I can email my notes from the extension to my colleagues. Though occasionally I will refine and share them directly with peers on the website.

C. Staying organized through the months of remote work

One of the key benefits of Beastnotes is that it keeps my notes structured without much effort. I create a Weekly Meetings notebook and simply pull up this weeks notebook during my meeting. Each chapter is simply a day of meetings.

D. Knowing how much time I’m spending in meetings

Oriented for learners, Beastnotes offers statistics that help me understand how much time I’m spending in meetings. This has proven invaluable as I strive to find work-life balance in a world that now has less separation between the two.

Stay on top of your remote meetings. Check it out!

Note: The Beastnotes browser extension will work on any Chrome or Firefox browser based video-conference e.g. Google Meet, Google Hangouts, UberConference, Zoom embedded on websites etc.

--

--