Emerging Technology For Dummies

This January, I’m teaching myself the fundamentals of Web3, Crypto, and the Metaverse. Come with me.

Rebecca Searles
3 min readJan 1, 2022

Have you seen all those headlines about Web3? NFTs? Ethereum? Are you pretending to know what it all means, so you can impress your parents when they ask about it? Yeah, me neither <_<

One of my favorite ways to exercise my brain and my skillset is reading about, and thinking about the future. But it feels like one day I looked up, and everyone was talking about the future in terms I didn’t understand.

So I started to do some digging, and the more articles I read about these topics, the more gaps in my fundamental knowledge I started to discover.

Sometimes the explanation of an esoteric concept is just more esoteric concepts. I think this kind of abstract form of learning works for some people, but it doesn’t work for me.

In the conversations I’ve had about all this with others, I can’t tell if the other person is more knowledgable than me, or if neither of us knows what the hell we’re talking about and we’re both just hurtling buzzwords at each other to forge some kind of play-pretend that we’re both in the know. My guess is the latter.

--

--

Rebecca Searles

Journalist-turned-product manager. I write about ethics in emerging technology, and run a creative technology studio called Motherbrain Media.