Rebecca Morton
Jun 27, 2024

--

Bev, this was a great look into our past! I didn't order from catalogues until the 1990s when, though the envelopes were still in them, there was an 800 number, which I used. I just got out my credit card and loudly, carefully read the numbers, along with my mailing address and phone number, into the landline phone to the lady who, by this time, probably had a rudimentary computer. Still, I never knew when/if the products would arrive.

I do remember filling out order envelopes with my sister when we were children--for the Columbia Record and Tape Club! We never sent them. Our mom wouldn't allow that, but we loved to pick our "ten free records/tapes" and fill in the code numbers on the little lines!

--

--

Rebecca Morton

From a theater family, I’ve written several plays, but more recently essay and memoir, expressing the confusion of my Gen X life over the past five decades.