Who's at the Door??

Rebecca Aguilar
2 min readDec 15, 2015

--

Another busy Monday, all of us, my family, getting around, glaming it up, for our school’s holiday concert. I heard a knock at my door, and there stood a Hillary Clinton canvasser. The temperature had dropped, becoming quite chilly, the skies darkened by heavy clouds, yet there she was, in the wet misty rain. She walked right past my Bernie Sanders sign up to our front porch. I didn’t catch her name, but she introduced herself as a staffer for Senator Clinton’s campaign. She was alone, no volunteers, sharing her personal story with me. The bummer was I had no time! I was pressed by obligations, the concert, we couldn’t be late. I really wanted to share with HER about Senator Sanders, and had to focus just to listen. I decided against pressing her, questioning, and making her wish she had never stopped by. Instead I chose to give her a few moments to tell me how she believes Hillary is the candidate that stands behind women's rights, pay equality, and the raising of wages. I felt her realness, passion, and almost immediately recognized our similarities. After a few, we laughed as I told her that I didn’t want to waste anymore of her energy. I took her flyer, thanked her, and I just hope that with my next door to door canvassing event that life provides me people with patience. And maybe some better weather. It does encourage me, to know that, unlike Hillary, Bernie Sanders has many volunteers to help his campaign staff all over Iowa; so no one has to be alone, out there knocking on people’s doors.

--

--