Shinichiro Watanabe, a Director of Samurai Champloo Explains Why He Combined Hip-Hop with Anime

beipana
2 min readAug 24, 2019
SCREENGRAB FROM OPENING SCENE OF “SAMURAI CHAMPLOO”

An infinite loop of a studying anime girl with warm beats is still viral on the internet. In March of 2019, I had an opportunity to explain how the lo-fi hip-hop popular is on Japanese Radio program “After six junction,” which is hosted by Utamaru, a Japanese rapper. Surprisingly it also brought me one more excellent opportunity to get a message from Shinichiro Watanabe, a director of Samurai Champloo & Cowboy Bebop through an interviewer Ko Furukawa. It’s not quite long but includes an exciting story.

Can you tell me about the impression of the lo-fi hip-hop phenomenon?

A while ago, I had heard that there is such a genre. Before listening, I thought it is just like a modern version of smooth jazz. But it was quite good once I heard it on the YouTube channel while working. The texture of the sound and the chill-vibe would fit the current listeners.

in 2004,When you attempted to combine hip-hop music with anime, it was unique at that time. Why did you consider it?

The concept of hip-hop influenced me rather than the music itself. For example, it’s sampling. This art form turns past music into new and edgy. So I decided to sample the exciting part of an old genre called “Jidaigeki,” Japanese historical drama and make it into new edgy animation.

The way of rappers also influenced me. It is said that Japanese people read between the lines so that they do not feel out of place and keep their heads down. But I always have the suspicion like “is it always been so? Is it just a behavior of such a modern Japanese?” It brought me to create an opposite character who boasts like a rapper with a microphone, and it should be like a samurai.

One of the beat makers of the lo-fi community said, “The real “aha” moment came when Samurai Champloo came out.” As a director, what do you think about Samurai Champloo’s influence on the world in this way?

I feel that they have expanded and interpreted one element of Samurai Champloo, but that is also interesting. When I first listened to Nujabes’s beat, it seemed to be suitable for the soundtrack, so I offered him. I believed there should be such hip-hop, not just like beat-oriented.

After 15 years, I am glad to see that the young generation of the Lo-fi community has inherited it.

Author: beipana
Tokyo based independent musician. The latest album “Lost in Pacific” was chosen as one of the contributor’s best collection 2016 of FACT Magazine. And newest EP has available
on Spotify.

--

--

beipana

Tokyo based musician. The latest album was chosen as one of the contributor’s best collection 2016 of FACT Magazine. And newest EP is available