GLX, Cards and the open beta launch — Hive

belemo Kigigha
3 min readAug 8, 2023

It’s been coming for weeks and now I have finally decided to sell some of the tokens that I’ve been holding on to. Out of the tokens, liquidating GLX and SPS will be pivotal.

Based on my calculations, I’ll have to liquidate all the GLX tokens in my wallet to be able to raise funds for our future house rent. So far so good, I think we’ll be able to raise enough for the one month and one week of rent that we have to pay.

I’m pretty bummed out that GLX hasn’t responded to the recent developments the way I hoped it would. The open launch hasn’t exactly led to the amount of excitement that I hoped it would and that has also reflected in the price of GLX.

I hate to think that the launch of the game won’t have any effect on the price of GLX token. I have so much riding on the token, so things really need to go better than they are right now.

Sell some and keep some

Anyway, even though I’ll be selling a chunk of my GLX tokens, I’ll still have a bit staked and earning me more GLX. I’ll be keeping it staked for as long as I can or at least until something major happens to the token price.

Despite the underwhelming response of GLX token to the launch of the game, I still think there’s prospects. Not only for GLX token but also for the cards.

Most conversations about the game have centered around the price of GLX token but none actually discuss the fact that cards could also experience a considerable bump in market activities. I’d be hoping to see an increase in trading activities when the game is properly launched.

Right now, there’s still no major incentive for having cards in Genesis League Goals. I mean, other than the fact that you can put them on the market place and hope for the best, there’s nothing else to do it with that leads to earning.

That will obviously change when ranked play is added to the game and investors start earning GLX tokens from intense tournaments and whatnot.

I expect ranked play with earning potential to lead to an increase in the demand for cards but the real money will come in when the game is more popular. Right now, we still seem like a narrow corridor of pseudo-splinterland players that are trying to latch onto the next big project before everyone else gets in.

Unlike Splinterlands that came at a time when there weren’t so many options to pick from, GLG is diving into a crowded pool of Blockchain games buying for supremacy. In a strange way, we could even claim that the game took away some of the shine from Splinterlands but that’s a story for another day.

Anyway, with so many cards and packed billed for the future, the card market place might not exactly be profitable if the project doesn’t embark on an onboarding and marketing campaign. It will require a lot of patience from investors but as long as we stay the course in the roadmap, which we have been doing so far, everything will be fine.

Posted Using LeoFinance Alpha

Originally published at https://hive.blog on August 8, 2023.

--

--

belemo Kigigha

I am a content creator, promoter, writer, mechanical engineer, lifelong Arsenal supporter and blockchain enthusiast.