Exploring career history: ‘Map of Choices’

Belinda Gidman-Rowse
3 min readAug 19, 2019

--

Putting pen (or pencil) to paper has always been my jam. Visual thinking and communicating is, in my opinion, a really powerful way to connect, explore and reflect one’s interpretations of the world. Ever since I discovered Tony Buzan’s mind-mapping technique back in the 90s (thanks Rachel Rowse), I’ve been a staunch fan of connecting drawing, colour and words when it’s time to learn. So naturally I was delighted when Roman Krznaric recommended some visual thinking as part of one of the exercises embedded within ‘How To Find Fulfilling Work’.

Enter: Map of Choices.

I recommend grabbing: A3 paper, coloured pencils, black fineliner and getting creative with however your brain works to map out your career path so far.

Part One: “The Map of Choices The first, called the Map of Choices, is designed to enable you to reflect on where you’ve come from, before you focus on where you’re going. You start by spending ten minutes drawing a map of your career path so far. It can take any form — a zigzagging line, a branching tree or maybe a labyrinth. On this map you should indicate not only the jobs you have done, but the different motivations and forces that have shaped your route. If a major career decision was influenced by the prospect of more money or status, show it on your map — similarly if you were driven by your talents, passions or values. You should also add other factors that might have guided you, such as the role played by your educational choices, parental expectations, professional career advice or chance. Even if you’ve only ever held one job, try mapping out what drew you into it.”

Here’s how my map turned out…

My ‘Map of Choices’ exercise from ‘How To Find Fulfilling Work’ by Roman Krznaric

Part Two:Having created your artwork, now spend another ten minutes looking at it and thinking about these three questions. • What does your map reveal about your overall approach to your working life so far? There may be general patterns you can see, such as the way you never stay in a position for more than a couple of years, or that you seem to have fallen into most jobs rather than really choosing them. • Which of the following motivations have you given greatest priority to in your career choices: money, status, respect, passions, talents or making a difference? (rank them from greatest to least priority) • Which two of the motivations mentioned above do you most want to shape your career choices in the future, and why? Make a note of your responses, ready for the next activity.”

My observations from doing the Map of Choices were:

1) My career choices to date have been driven by previous experience and dictated by circumstances rather than conscious decisions

2) Passion and status seem to be important drivers, but so too are talent, values and money (to an extent, ie: having a comfortable life)

3) In the future I would like to be driven by my passions and making a difference

Hrmmm. Interesting.

I really valued this activity for shedding some light on the motivating forces behind my decision making that I was not previously cognisant of. I also found the visual nature and semantics of a map very helpful in re-framing my view of my career; instead of a linear list of roles and responsibilities, it’s become a more complex cartographic tool, one in which the journey is more interesting than the destination.

I’m keeping it close by me as I continue my journey into the unknown.

--

--

Belinda Gidman-Rowse

Documenting my journey of career exploration, armed with reading matter, a bunch of ideas & plentiful amounts of post-it notes.