5 clothing items that wouldn’t go out of fashion EVER!

Belly Kanungo
4 min readJan 9, 2024

Fashion evolves, trends come and go, yet some pieces remain eternal. These wardrobe staples have defied the fickle nature of fashion, standing as icons of style and versatility. Whether vintage or modern, they continue to grace closets generation after generation, seamlessly blending into any era.

I have written this blog as a reminder to myself to keep these staples in check always in my collection and at the same time it is to assist minimalists, those unsure about what to wear, or even fashion enthusiasts in managing their essential wardrobe items effectively!

Btw, i also run a Fashion Blog on instagram if in case you’re interested in following my work. :)

Let’s explore five clothing items that have stood the test of time.

1 **The Classic White Shirt:**

A pristine white shirt is the epitome of timeless elegance. Its simplicity holds immense versatility — dressed up with a blazer for a formal look or paired with jeans for a casual-chic vibe. Its clean lines and effortless sophistication make it a must-have in every wardrobe.

If you ask me, I can create looks for all the seasons and weather conditions with a plain white shirt.

During summer, I prefer wearing it as an unbuttoned shirt layered over a tank top to shield my arms from the sun. When winter arrives, I opt for layering a V-neck sweater on top of my white shirt along with fleece leggings.

Photo by HAJIGRAPHER on Unsplash

2. **Blue Jeans:**

Denim jeans are the ultimate symbol of cool, transcending age, gender, and trends. Whether skinny, straight, or bootcut, jeans adapt to any style. From Hollywood icons to everyday fashionistas, everyone has a favorite pair, making them an everlasting fashion staple.

I personally advice having these 3 types of jeans for various seasons:

  • Straight fit jeans: for casual everyday/officewear/college
  • Skinny jeans: for cold winter days when I can wear my knee length boots on top
  • Denim shorts: for summertime specially for beach vacations
Photo by Ali Pazani on Unsplash

3. **The Little Black Dress (LBD):**

Coined by Coco Chanel, the LBD has been a savior for countless occasions. Its timeless allure lies in its simplicity and adaptability. Accessorize for different looks or keep it minimalist; this dress is a canvas waiting to be styled.

My bodycon (body-fitted) black dress has been worn multiple times on different occasions, and each time I wear it, I receive numerous compliments.

At work events, I tend to pair my LBD with a blazer for a more formal and structured appearance. When heading to parties, I opt for chunky jewelry and stilettos to elevate the look. For casual gatherings, I either style it with sneakers or add a chic accessory like a handbag or scarf to complement the outfit.

Photo by Gelmis Bartulis on Unsplash

4. **Tailored Blazer:**

A well-fitted blazer adds instant polish to any outfit. Whether paired with trousers, a dress, or jeans, it effortlessly elevates the look. Its versatility knows no bounds — from office power attire to a casual evening out, the tailored blazer stands as a fashion linchpin.

As mentioned, I often match my LBD for a formal appearance, but it also complements well with tailored pants or a jumpsuit for work or formal events. During casual evenings, I layer my blazer over a nice tee or blouse, paired with either a skirt or pants. Blazers also serve as essential outerwear during the moderate temperatures of spring and autumn, when it’s neither too cold nor too warm.

Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

5. **Trench Coat:**

The trench coat embodies both style and functionality. Its roots trace back to military attire, evolving into a timeless fashion statement. The sleek lines and neutral tones make it an ideal outerwear piece, transcending seasons and trends.

I find trench coats to be an essential item for traveling, especially during cold airport and airplane moments. My spring and autumn outfits lack completeness without a stylish neutral trench coat in my wardrobe.🧥

Photo by Melek Mavzer on Unsplash

If you found this blog helpful then please leave some 👏 and your valuable comments.

And follow my blog if you haven’t already!

--

--

Belly Kanungo

Writer l Blogger | Author | Follow me (bellykanungo) on Instagram | Get in touch at kanungobelly@gmail.com