Snapchat Going Offline

All Things Snap
All Things Snap

--

No, I don’t mean they are disappearing. I’m talking about reaching beyond devices.

As you may know, Snapchat added “Snap Codes” in January as a way to quickly add friends and people you meet without spelling out your username.

Now, at first I was a bit skeptical. After all, it’s a QR code and I have little love for QR codes.

But Snapchat is an interesting beast. There is no linking out or in. You cannot tweet a link to share your info and get people to follow you. You can, however, send your snap code to someone and they can add you within Snapchat by simply tapping the image of the code on their camera screen.

The issue with this is the need for multiple devices if you want to “send” the code. I can’t text you my code and have you scan it without a 2nd device.

But maybe that’s the point. Not multiple devices, but to force physical connections. Is Snapchat really going to push for offline activity as more valuable than digital? Or, am I just overthinking this and they simply can’t figure out how to link into the app? I think the latter is less likely.

I’m really interested to see how they play this.

Let me know what you think. Tweet me or snap me at FIGOAMERICANO. Btw, you can scan my fancy snap code to make it easier. *wink*

--

--

All Things Snap
All Things Snap

The official profile of Snapchat Strategy, the premier publication for all things SNAPCHAT!