Choosing a Luxury Performance EV in 2020

Joe Beninato
2 min readJan 18, 2020
2020 Tesla Model S Performance (image courtesy Tesla)

I’ve been a big proponent of electric vehicles and have owned several including the 2011 Chevy Volt, and both the 2012 and 2014 Tesla Model S (long story). As my current car approached 5 years this December, I decided to see what was available. Here’s what I found.

I surveyed the market for every EV that exists today or will exist in the next few months. TLDR; the Model S was still the best luxury performance EV I could find. A few thoughts:

  1. The Audi e-tron had a really nice interior and drove well, but lacks both the acceleration and range of a Tesla S or X. With only 200 miles of range and no acceleration, I decided to pass.
  2. The Jaguar iPace was a contender. The range is a little bit better than the Audi at around 230 I think, but still less than my old Model S (240 miles), and again, not nearly the acceleration, but much closer. This was my first time driving a Jaguar, and it was nice, but they have a lot to learn in the coming years.
  3. The Porsche Taycan looks interesting but it’s ridiculously priced and about the same performance as the Model S. Plus Porsche is going to have to go through the growing pains Tesla has for the last 8 years.
  4. While Ford thinks turning the Mustang into a crossover is a genius move, I was offended by it. Mustang means 2 door sports car. I object on the basis of bad branding alone!

Tesla also has a huge advantage in terms of the installed Supercharger network they’ve created. So if you’re looking for an EV right now, I’d look at the Model 3 (lower priced, but great performance) or the Model S (luxury high performance).

Shameless plug: if you decide to take the plunge, please use my Tesla referral code by clicking here before you order: http://ts.la/joseph9716

--

--

Joe Beninato

Investor and 8 time startup guy. Recently at X, the moonshot factory.