Brandon Sanderson’s Cosmere Stories Ranked

Cosmere characters hop between worlds. Cosmere readers hop between books!

Benny Regalbuto
24 min readApr 12, 2023
Mistborn: The Final Empire leatherbound cover, featuring Allomantic symbols.
Part of my collection of Brandon Sanderson’s books is this eye-catching, (faux) leather-bound copy of Mistborn: The Final Empire. I also own the mass market paperback, which is less eye-catching for how small and beat up it is, but close to my heart as the first Sanderson book I ever bought and read — not to mention the fact that he signed it! Author’s own image.

All images fair use or author’s own.

LATEST UPDATE: The Sunlit Man

There is perhaps no name more synonymous with modern fantasy than Brandon Sanderson. Love him or hate him, the guy’s a workhorse who consistently puts out A Song of Ice and Fire-sized tomes (totally not throwing any shade, George) and genuinely loves connecting with his fans.

I’ve been one of those Sanderfans since 2015, and though I haven’t loved all his work, it’s hard not to love how dedicated the man is. There’s always something new to read, to discuss, and to look forward to. That alone is enough to make him a contender for favorite author, if not simply my favorite. I even met him at New York Comic Con in 2022.

With his company, Dragonsteel Entertainment, sending out Secret Project books and fun loot month after month as part of his Year of Sanderson Kickstarter, I figured 2023 was the perfect time to rank his Comsere work. I assume you’re here because you’re a Sanderfan, but on the off chance you’re reading this and don’t know what the Cosmere is, it’s his shared fictional universe that spans multiple Sanderseries.

--

--

Benny Regalbuto

The Amazing Comic Book Reviews + Benny’s Book-Writing Blog + more!