Review of Russel Brunson’s Expert Secrets — Why Content Templates Suck

Ben Pines
2 min readOct 9, 2019

--

Don’t be a douche. Stay away from mind tricks. Never Manipulate.

Well, to be honest, I don’t have enough time to write a comprehensive review.

But I have something on my mind that I have to unload.

The book was good. Really good. It gave me some important insights, and I am probably going to get back to reading it again, at least in part.

I really don’t want to go over all the parts I liked… The big domino idea, meaning a small but calculated action making a big difference as opposed to a long to-do list of keeping busy activities.

There’s one main thing I didn’t like about it — which is the use of content templates.

For example, the four question close:

‘imagine you and I were starting to work together today. And I teach you everything I know and everything and do everything I can to help you get results, I want you to imagine that we’re sitting in a coffee shop a year from today.

Now, what would have happened in your life, both personally and professionally, for you to feel happy with your progress?​ What would make you believe that this was the best thing decision you ever made?’

(From Expert Secrets)

If this sounds to you like NLP, or pickup artist talk, then you can understand where I am coming from.

Why did he have to spread these types of content templates? WHY?

It turns a marketer into an automaton.

It sucks.

Instead, why not engage and ask honest questions, instead of trying to manipulate and plant ‘seed’ ideas in your prospect’s head, in the hopes to increase conversions.

If you are interested in a different approach, I full-heartedly recommend this book:

https://www.amazon.com/Getting-Naked-Business-Shedding-Sabotage/dp/0787976393

In ‘Getting Naked’, Lencioni depicts a consulting firm that beats its competitors by bringing real value to the prospect even before the prospect becomes a client.

In my life, I learned that the same strategy works for convincing people (not NLP), for getting women to like you (not pickup artists) and for marketing (not these shady scripts). In a word, vulnerability. Being there, completely honest, being ready to fail, being vulnerable, being ready to get ‘No’ without it affecting your ego. This is the true path for success.

--

--