WRITING

The Writing Revelation

The hidden writers of the world

Ben Ulansey
The Fiction Writer’s Den
3 min readApr 19, 2023

--

A pencil
Photo by Daniel Shapiro on Unsplash

When I was a kid, I didn’t understand that writers were everywhere. How exactly those Spongebob Squarepants episodes that gave joy to my childhood came into being, I wasn’t quite sure. But the idea that writers had anything to do with it was a thought I never once considered.

What could those studious people at desks with glasses and pencils provide to the world of cartoons? To explore the world of writing myself now, though, is to have my fullest understanding yet of what a wonderfully universal talent it is. There are very few professions to which the skill can’t be applied.

Even well into my adulthood, I didn’t have a very clear sense of the linguistic prowess that went into the world outside of books. Pamphlets need to be written. Legal language does, too. YouTube videos typically require a script. The songs that brighten our lives are each written by poets. The most senselessly violent of video games require writers. Even the dialogues to the most craven and graphic of adult films don’t just conjure themselves.

Perhaps it goes without saying that writers are everywhere and I’m just late to the realization. But lately, each passing month has come with an expanded appreciation of the sheer variety of ways in which the skill set can be…

--

--

Ben Ulansey
The Fiction Writer’s Den

Writer, musician, dog whisperer, video game enthusiast and amateur lucid dreamer. I write memoirs, satires, philosophical treatises and everything in between 🐙