Everywheres and Nowheres

Painting a picture of my racial and cultural background is no easy feat.

Bernice R.
2 min readJan 20, 2022
An assortment of paint bottles are scattered on a messy white table, with paint splatters decorating the white surface.
Photo by Ricardo Viana on Unsplash

I belong everywhere and nowhere all at once.

I’m born in the Philippines but my parents take me to Hong Kong three months later.

My mother is a flight attendant and because of her I’m able to travel at a young age. Some of my earliest memories are of me sitting on her lap, feeling like I’m queen of the clouds.

I visit the Philippines and feel like a misshapen crop in a corn field, as everything feels familiar but it doesn’t. Having never lived there, there’s a whole experience of living that I don’t understand, that I am raised above by default.

I never learn how to speak Cantonese, and navigate through life in Hong Kong as an outsider. Being Chinese Filipino and living in Hong Kong, I already stand out amongst the locals and my parents carve out a close-knit Filipino community of their own. We cling to each other amid prejudice and stereotypes about our race.

I go to an international school with a Canadian curriculum, my parents wanting me to have the best that Western culture has to offer, despite living on the other side of the world.

I move to Canada when I’m 15, and my international upbringing stirs intrigue and curiosity…

--

--

Bernice R.

Personal essays, pop culture, and punning. Subscribe to my newsletter for a dose of all three in your inbox: https://bernicespieces.eo.page/newsletter