One thing I learned from reading “The No Complaining Rule”

Bereket Tolcha
2 min readSep 10, 2022

by Jon Gordon

Welcome back!

As you can easily guess, or if you are wondering, I have learned a lot from this life-changing book. But I will only share one thing.

As you might guess from the title, the book is about how damaging complaining is to our professional success, personal life, and everyone around us. It says:

In life, you have a choice between two roads. The positive road and the negative road. The positive road will lead to enhanced health, happiness, and success and the negative road will lead to misery, anger, and failure.

Which road would you choose?

Photo by Jens Lelie on Unsplash

You might be thinking, so what? I know complaining is bad or I don’t complain by choice.

The one thing I learned from this book is that we do have a choice. You do have a choice.

We can choose to not complain but since it won’t be easy to do so, the book proposes a technique called “Complaining fast”. This means choosing not to complain for a day at first and once you get comfortable with that and saw encouraging results, then go for a week, then for a month, and then a year.

You can tell your friends, family members, or anyone you trust about your complaining fast plan. This will help you stick to your project since they will keep you in check once you announce your plan.

This will help you shift from the habit of complaining step by step in very small manageable chunks.

If you are like me, you might ask, what if I complain unconsciously during my complaining fast? The book has an answer for that too.

The answer is in short, “So what, get up, dust yourself up and keep going”.

If this is interesting to you, I highly recommend you to read the book.

Comment about: Do you think thi will work?

Follow Me To Support My Work. Also If You Don’t Want To Miss Any Of My Future Stories, Join Me.

Have A Nice Day!

--

--

Bereket Tolcha

I enjoy reading books and sharing my thoughts with colleagues and friends. Udemy profile: https://www.udemy.com/user/bereket-tolcha-2/