MY BRAND STORY

Berlin's Thoughts
3 min readMay 27, 2022

--

I walk into a room full of people from different ethnic communities, genders, social backgrounds, heights, complexions…name them. These people are youth and mentors and are all standing facing the front, at the furthest left in the middle of the hall just along the main pathway, I spot an unoccupied seat. I stand at attention as I join them in the East African Anthem which resonates with my beliefs and guide system. We finish and people are instructed to have their seats.

Right there and then I march silently towards my seat. I bring out my pen and notebook to jot down some important points. Very important. It is a leadership interschool conference and we are being mentored about leading self and society at large on matters; group dynamics and leadership hacks.

Based on the questions being asked by participants, I am greatly inspired by how the youth are so informed of what their rights are in the society. The self awareness degree in their conversations, communication skills and how they apply emotional intelligence in their dealings. My major concern overall being equality in opportunities for whoever deserves it by measure of excellence.

In my life, I have been driven by my spirit of adventure and even better, that whatever I tackle, I do it with excellence. With time of landing great opportunities where I have exercised my leadership skills, I have gotten to understand that leading groups and teams takes more than just the will. Growth mindset, agility, emotional intelligence and effective time management are just but a few amongst the many things that encompass effective leadership. Learning stress management has enabled me be more tactful in keeping calm when dealing with stress.

As we are discussing and having constructive conversations I figure then that we are indeed not living the age of our parents. I could hear very powerful entrepreneurial and innovative ideas. Lapid Leaders Africa for one, has helped me in my self awareness Journey and this has really opened my eyes.

Esther Mwaniki says, ‘‘It is in being able to lead self that one can exercise leadership on other people.”

This drives to the point of where my passion is at. I’d say, inspiring self and other youth to be changemakers. I strive each and every day to be a better person. We can all agree that change would only work if we individually be the change we would want to see and live. Africa being a land of opportunities, I strongly believe that we are an able continent and myself being one of the many youth who aspire to exploit the opportunities there are and creating more, we will create a greatly empowered generation of now and the future.

I am looking forward to living a moment or even creating a peaceful world for the generations coming after me where people would be more conscience of their actions and understanding how that would affect their neighbors.

--

--