Ukulele For Beginners: What You Need To Know Before You Get Your First Uke

Bernard Paguirigan
5 min readJun 15, 2018

--

Recently, I got involved in the ukulele industry. And I think I’m beginning to like it.

In the past few months, I was helping a ukulele store with their SEO and email marketing. I was surprised that this little bugger is very popular around the world.

Here’s what I found out…

I looked at the number of searches in google and the number of people in social media who are into ukulele. My eyes lit up. There are literally millions of people playing the ukulele around the world. The figure is quite astonishing.

Oh well, I didn’t know this cute instrument can really make a killing in terms of sales.

With that said, let me share a few thoughts about this four-stringed wonder.

“It’s just a toy.”

That’s my first impression about the ukulele.

Well, you can’t blame me for thinking that way. It’s a small musical instrument. And, it only has four strings.

I mean, seriously? I’m not even aware that there are four ukulele sizes.

The picture that always comes to my mind whenever someone mentions the ukulele are those kids holding small four-stringed plastic ukes.

Remember those cheap looking ukuleles that you find on the streets?

Let me tell you a quick story.

I grew up in a small village where people only knew two musical instruments — the guitar and the piano. What I mean is that these two were the common instruments that people used to play when I was growing up.

I never had a hold of a real ukulele until I was in my 30s (what a shame).

Nobody introduced it to me until I went to the big city, got acquainted with the internet and for the first time, I watched Jake Shimabukuro play the ukulele like a God on Youtube.

My jaw dropped.

I never thought somebody could play the ukulele like that.

I was hooked.

And so, I did what everyone does whenever they get inspired. I went on looking for my first ukulele.

Buying your first ukulele should not be that complicated. For me, there are 3 things that you need to consider:

The size, the ukulele brand, and your budget.

Let’s talk about the size first. As mentioned earlier, there are four ukulele sizes. The soprano, concert, tenor, and baritone.

UKULELE SIZES

  • Soprano — The soprano ukulele is the smallest among the four sizes. What’s interesting is that it is the one that most people think whenever the word “ukulele” is mentioned. It’s the classic image of a ukulele. Sopranos have 12–15 frets and has the smallest body. It has that classic “twangy sound” of a ukulele. Because of its small size, it’s one of the favorites for people who loved to travel. Very portable. Ideal for kids and players who have small hands.
  • Concert — The concert ukulele typically has 15 to 20 frets. It’s slightly bigger than a soprano and because of that, it gives a fuller sound compared to its smaller sibling. Concert size is one of the favorites for beginners because the size is not too small and not too big. It is still portable enough for travels and it produces very a solid sound. What’s more interesting about this uke is that it still has that classic ukulele “twangy” sound.
  • Tenor — The tenor ukulele is bigger in size compared to the other two ukuleles that I first mentioned. Typically, this ukulele has 18 frets or more. Due to its larger body, you will get a fuller sound and more frets to play with your fingers. Most professional ukulele players prefer this size as it allows them more room in the fretboard.
  • Baritone — The baritone uke is the perfect crossover for guitar players. It’s the biggest ukulele size among the four. The tuning is different from the other three as it doesn’t follow the g-C-E-A standard ukulele tuning. Instead, it is tuned to D-G-B-E which is the same as the top four strings of a guitar.

UKULELE BRAND

The second thing that you need to consider is the ukulele brand. You can search online and look for the “best ukulele for beginners”. Google will show you the top ukulele reviews. What you need to find out are those ukulele brands that have good reviews.

You can also check ukulele reviews on Youtube. Most youtubers test the products themselves and show it on their videos. So basically, you’ll get a glimpse of how the ukulele sounds and how it would look like. You get the feel of the size and performance by just looking at the videos.

My first ukulele was a Bondi Mahogany Concert Ukulele. I really loved it. I was expecting an entry level but I think I got more than expected. It produces a loud and bright sound that is quite identical to those pricey ukuleles.

One of the most popular brands right now is the Kala Ukulele. It’s a bang for the buck. I’m not endorsing these brands that I mentioned. It’s just my observation. You still need to find out yourself which one fits your taste.

YOUR BUDGET

Lastly, you have to know how much would you like to spend on your first purchase as a beginner. If you just want to test the waters and you feel that you still don’t want to fully commit yourself to this instrument, I would suggest you look for ukuleles at the price range between $80-$250.

Any ukulele below $80 are a bunch of craps. Well, that’s based on my experience. Poor intonation, cheap low quality strings, the wood is not glued properly, etc.

Maybe you can find a cheap ukulele of good quality, but that’s very rare. Overall, it won’t stand a chance to last for years.

CONCLUSION

Getting your first ukulele is quite exciting. However, you have to do proper research before making a purchase. Generally, new players will do well by starting with a uke that fits their hand-size and budget. Although you may feel very eager to buy your first ukulele, it pays to be very careful when making a decision on which brand and model you choose.

Ukulele is a very user-friendly musical instrument. You can learn how to play it in just a matter of days. My advice is to join the community and be one with millions of people around the world who enjoy playing this wonderful instrument. Happy Strumming!

--

--

Bernard Paguirigan

SEO Copywriter/Email Copywriter. I help entrepreneurs increase their profit through SEO and Email Copywriting.