The Rediscovery of Meaning: Things I Would Say if I Were Still a Pastor With a Pulpit

The “post” pandemic phenomena of quiet quitting, church-leaving, and the great-resignation

Bernie Anderson
7 min readOct 7, 2022

We went back to a Sunday morning church service again.

It had been a minute. Or months.

We restarted attending before the Omicron wave of the pandemic (what I lovingly refer to this as the pandemic’s Wordle phase).

We stopped as cases in our area started rising.
Again.

Our return wasn’t as uncomfortable as my mind was leading me to believe it would be.

Some church-familiar things.
Music.
Singing.
Preaching.

But there was also a lot of unfamiliar and a bit of weird.
I knew one song and maybe about 3 people.
Our church had moved on without us while we were away.

As they should have.

The most interesting phenomenon was, contrary to what I’m hearing on trending Twitter, the number of young people in attendance was high. There were a lot of young Millennials and Zoomers. I was in an over-50 minority group. That seemed like a positive. With the ongoing news of younger generations leaving the Church, it should thrill my…

--

--

Bernie Anderson

Greenville, SC based consultant/speaker/writer. I teach business and non-profit leaders to thrive by cultivating vision, rhythm, and community.