This is How You Lose Yourself

Iman N. Milner
4 min readMay 20, 2016

There are a lot of articles, self-help books, Instagram quotes and the like about how to travel the world, meditate, and eat, pray, love to find your true self. There are twice as many people willing to tell or sell you their testimony on how, once lost, they discovered themselves at the end of a grueling search. We, the people, love a good hide and seek tale about one’s identity. As of late; however, I’ve been all about being proactive instead of reactive–focusing more on causes rather than effects, and from that focus came the question: How do we lose ourselves?

I began to think critically about the times (yep, plural) that I’ve felt disconnected from my spirit and found that these 5 things are how you lose yourself.

1. BEING IN RELATIONSHIPS THAT DRAIN YOU.

And no, I don’t just mean those of the romantic sort. I am talking about those friends who only call to dump their bad days on you, but who disappear when you’re in need. I mean that family member who has always mistreated you and who you forgive because “blood is thicker than water.” Hell, I mean that girl who does your hair and makes you wait three hours after your scheduled appointment time because she has personal issues that keep her from being professional. And yes, I also mean that man or woman who keeps you up all night in tears, makes you question…

--

--

Iman N. Milner

Actress. Believer. Ruby Dee meets Dorothy Dandridge. Short hair like Nia Long. Follower of dreams, not rules. Author of “on breakups…and beginnings”.