On The Hype Cycle and The Role of Product Hunt for Consumer Social Apps

Adam Besvinick
3 min readMar 5, 2015

Yesterday, I wrote about my affection for Meerkat and the live mobile video streaming space but cautioned that it’s a bit of a love-hate relationship. Today, I’ll discuss the latter half.

My burgeoning frustration that has peaked over the last several days has more to do with the tech hype cycle and less to do with Meerkat itself (except for that semi-spammy auto-Tweet issue I had mentioned). It just so happens that Meerkat is the latest Silicon Valley overnight darling to benefit from a rapid and somewhat…

--

--

Adam Besvinick

VC supporting startups solving problems in health, human capital, and the environment | Philly and Duke diehard | fantasy football commish | golf/latte addict