Podcasts to Lose Yourself In

TheSweetShoppeByBeth/MyCakeLife
3 min readJan 20, 2020

--

A good podcast can really help to make the workday pass quickly!

If you’ve never tried listening to a podcast, then you’re missing out! There are so many options out there and they have something for everyone.

I listen to them anytime I’m icing a cake, baking, cleaning, or any other task that I want to be more enjoyable. I find sometimes I’m in the mood for a drama, sometimes an informational episode, and sometimes I just want to laugh!

Here are some of my favorites!

This one is amazing! It has drama, suspense, action, & great voice actors. My teenage sons loved it as much as I did and it kept us on the edge of our seats as we traveled this past Summer. I really can’t recommend it enough!

  • 88 Cups of Tea

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/88-cups-of-tea/id1027586565

This one is an ongoing obsession of mine! I love Yin, the host, and the guests she has on the show are so informative and interesting to listen to. This podcast focuses on becoming a writer but anyone in the creative industry would gain knowledge from this podcast.

  • Earthbreak

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/earth-break/id1460595349

This podcast!!! I can’t even describe to you the intensity I felt while listening to this! This podcast is a one-woman show and she literally makes you feel as if you’re there with her fighting for your life! It is not for the weak of heart and the language is not at all suited for children/young teens. However, my husband and I both listened to this and could not believe how addicting it was!

  • Satellite Sisters

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/satellite-sisters/id443780324

Every woman should be listening to this podcast! The hosts are sisters and they are amazing! They talk about current events but not in a heavy way. They discuss their own lives, trends, traveling, books, and everything else in between. They are hilarious and every time I listen in I feel like I’m sitting down with friends. It’s always a positive part of my week.

  • What Should I Read Next

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/what-should-i-read-next/id1073499086

If you like books, then this podcast is going to be your new best friend! Every week the host talks books with someone and helps them find great books that suit their interests. She does a great job and I always find great titles to add to my “to be read list”.

  • The White Vault

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-white-vault/id1267043823

This is another audio drama that I am currently listening to and love it! It is suspenseful and very eerie. It gives me chills and when I listen to it through earbuds I find myself afraid that the noises I’m hearing through the audio are really noises around me in my house. It is the ultimate horror and creepy podcast!

  • Sisters Talking in Circles

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/sisters-talking-in-circles/id1477120344

This podcast is new and very relatable for women, sisters, best friends, parents, and real people with real-life experiences. It talks about light subjects like books, movies, and family holiday drama. It also tackles hard subjects like depression, friendships, and struggles with parenting. So if you’re looking for a place to feel included and welcome, check it out! Plus I’m one of the hosts on this podcast so that automatically brings it up a notch!

As you can tell I like to venture into different styles and topics when it comes to podcast listening. I am looking forward to finding new series in 2020 that will continue to keep me entertained throughout the year. I hope you find these listens as enjoyable as I do!

#MyCakeLife

--

--

TheSweetShoppeByBeth/MyCakeLife

My Cake Life articles help me to share my favorite techniques, recipes, tips, small business challenges, and overall story of my love for all things sweet!