Gluten Free Biscuits — That are Actually Delicious!

For the Love of Grits
2 min readJul 7, 2016

--

I’ve had to recently take the southern cooking skills I’ve learned from my mom and modify them for my new lifestyle change: a gluten and soy free diet in an attempt to help slow down the growth of Endometriosis and to help relieve my constant pain and inflammation.

Gluten and soy are in so many foods, especially in the foods I love, and I’m doing the best I can to adapt to this new change. However, I’ve realized that this lifestyle can be done. There are so many products and brands in most grocery stores that are allergy-friendly and that seems to make the change a bit easier.

My first product recommendation is Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free 1-to-1 Baking Flour. I decided to make biscuits using the recipe located on the packaging but was skeptical because I couldn’t imagine a vegan biscuit actually tasting good!

http://www.bobsredmill.com/gluten-free-1-to-1-baking-flour.html

When the biscuits were hot out of the oven, I couldn’t wait until dinner to try one. I had to “make sure” they were edible for Brian and I to devour with our meal.

I spread earth balance soy free butter on my biscuit, another recently discovered great product, and let it melt for a few seconds.

Next, I got a heaping spoonful of my beloved sorghum and topped it on my biscuit. If you’re not familiar with sorghum, you’re missing out! It’s similar to molasses or maple syrup but it may be considered an acquired taste. I grew up eating it with my biscuits, so of course I’m a fan! It also has a lot of health benefits.

Once I took a bite, I was hooked. The biscuits were surprisingly delicious and were probably the best store-bought biscuits I’ve ever had. I could hear the “Hallelujah Chorus” echoing from Heaven. These biscuits gave me hope for my southern foodie soul.

--

--