Poor Naval’s Almanack

Arik R
2 min readNov 14, 2016

--

See also: Poor Charlie’s Almanack, Poor Richard’s Almanack

The Wit and Wisdom of Naval Ravikant:

Text interviews

A few excerpts from this and part one:

The most interesting and happiest people I know never picked a career. They did different things throughout their lives with passion and enthusiasm. At the time they were just doing what was exciting to them, so they became really good at it.

You have one life. You’re dead for tens of billions of years, and you’re going to be dead for another ten billions years. So why would you spend this one life doing things that you don’t want to?

When you start going your own way, you start to disconnect from your friends and family because they have a consensus model of who you are. And they don’t want you to deviate from that model. The moment you compare those lines and say, ‘No, no the shortest line is over there’, you’re alone. Then they say, ‘Who is that guy? He’s not the person we knew.’

We’re taught from an early age not to ask stupid questions like what is the point of it all? Do we all die? We’re taught that these questions don’t have answers. But it turns out that they actually do, except they are unique to every individual.

I think it’s a good idea to make a list of all of the questions that you’ve been told don’t have answers, and start asking yourself them over and over.

Who am I? What is truth? What is the purpose of life? Why do we die? If I only had one life, how should I live it? Is love real? What is love?

There are a few things that you’ll probably never compromise on. But pick those battles very, very carefully. And this is what I meant when I said on Tim’s podcast, ‘Desire is a contract that you make with yourself to be unhappy until you get what you want.’ By the way, I can’t take credit for that. I got the concept from a blog called Delusional Damage, which is unfortunately not online anymore. He’s a very clever guy.

You have to pick your desires very carefully. Wherever your desire is, that is where your suffering will be until you get what you want.

Twitter

In response to: “What can I do in the next 60 days to become a clearer, more independent thinker?”

Sourced using https://www.quora.com/How-can-I-find-out-what-my-most-retweeted-tweet-was

Podcasts

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Arik R

Believes in and seeks Potential. Asks: “What makes people great? What problems are valuable? What should I/we/you concretely do?”