The “Kindle for Audiobooks” or new-age radio

A use for old iPhones and a product request from Amazon!

Arik R
1 min readNov 17, 2016

“Avoid using electronics/screens within 90 minutes of sleeping.” — A tip I read in a great book on sleep

Instead of using my phone before sleeping, I want to listen to audiobooks.

But I have my audiobooks on my phone, and if I keep my phone next to my bed I can’t help but check other apps/messages.

So I took my previous iPhone, disabled Safari, removed the sim card, deleted all apps that have messages, and turned off notifications. Now I have a “neutered” iPhone that basically just has the Podcast app and the Audible app, and so I can keep it next to the bed to be used at night and in the morning.

If anyone’s looking for an opportunity (Amazon?) I’d be interested in a standalone device for audiobooks, especially if it had an all you can eat monthly plan. For people that used radios, this is like having a radio next to the bed. For people used to Kindles: a Kindle for audiobooks.

--

--

Arik R

Believes in and seeks Potential. Asks: “What makes people great? What problems are valuable? What should I/we/you concretely do?”