Betty Brennan
1 min readJun 14, 2017

--

I’m 49 (yikes almost that 50 year old). I don’t believe in seniority either except for some loyalty and I believe company history is an important knowledge base too. I also believe in outcomes, speed, hiring for attitude, etc. Are you describing the difference in Millenials versus older people or are you describing personality traits? You sound like a D on the DISC profile for example.

It’s the first time in history where four different generations are working together. The differences I see in the younger generation is when a project demands longer hours maybe because the team didn’t produce the planned outcomes there are complaints about hours worked. There is much sensitivity to feedback. I once had a millenial say the font we used on a policy was angry for instance. Another said we shouldn’t share bad news in a company meeting. They want much more feeling and care about their personal lives than older generations needed. Of course, this doesn’t apply to all and just like you I hire for attitude more than skills. However, I can’t teach someone how to do mechanical engineering, so not all skills can be taught at a company unless you are huge.

--

--

Betty Brennan

Entrepreneur, Horse Lover, Nature Embracer, Adventure Seeker, Constant Learner, Museum Goer